Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn  

Go Back   The Vette Barn > C5 Corvette > C5 Open Discussion

C5 Open Discussion General and technical C5 Corvette discussion - ownership, maintenance, repairs, modifications, tuning

User Tag List

Share Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-26-2012, 1:47pm   #1
allthrottleandsomebottle
A Real Barner
Activity: 0%

Thanked 1,705 Times in 588 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1005893
Default My 00' vert on the road… Real World Testing of the Michelin Pilot Super Sport Tires

As some of you may remember, I have been testing these tires for Michelin since late 2010 first starting in Dubai on many cars EXCEPT a Corvette.

They have been all track miles until a few months ago.

Michelin agreed they would provide me a set of 245/40ZR17 & 285/35ZR18 for my 2000 vert to do some real world testing off the track.
My research and previous experience with C5 tire sizing all pointed to the above sizing, these are as close to the OEM sizes/rake Michelin currently makes in the PSS and have worked perfectly to date!

I have changed nothing on this C5 since I bought it over a year ago, except changing the tires!

I finally have 1000+ all purpose miles on the PSS tires in dry, wet and flood conditions!

Many Corvette drivers dread seeing the rain………….not me, it is another perfect test condition to go flog a car and some tires!

With a near stock powered 2000 auto trans C5 (3.15 gear/Z51 suspension), I really had to try hard to get the tires to break free from a dead stop on a well traveled wet road even with the TC off.

Once I did loose traction, the recovery was quick to happen.

These tires give a driver a very high sense of confidence in any evasive maneuver in wet or dry conditions on the road.

These tires on the street impress me as I expected based on the track miles I already have on them. The gripability of these fully treaded street tires are near a R compound race slick!