Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn  
 
Go Back   The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic

Off Topic Off Topic - General non-Corvette related discussion.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2014, 10:18pm   #1
1911fool
A Real Barner
Points: 11,355, Level: 73
Activity: 0%
 
1911fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Where no one wants to be.
Posts: 2,158
Thanks: 177
Thanked 339 Times in 232 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $5315788
Default Question for Red..

or anyone else that may know.

I have a Gen V 454. On the block by the oil filter there are 2 ports that went to an oil cooler and back. I am not going to run an oil cooler. Can I just plug these ports or is there more that I have to do?
1911fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 11:30pm   #2
Fastguy
Barn Stall Owner #92
Bantayan Kids '13,'15
Points: 22,002, Level: 100
Activity: 1.1%
 
Fastguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 7,158
Thanks: 1,190
Thanked 2,823 Times in 1,398 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $7534988
Default

You can either plug them or run a loop back into itself. Why no oil cooler?
Fastguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 12:18am   #3
RED-85-Z51
The Hooptie Whisperer
Points: 47,213, Level: 100
Activity: 8.3%
 
RED-85-Z51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10,681
Thanks: 804
Thanked 3,116 Times in 1,676 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1975165
Default

You sure the ports are on thr block, or in the filter adapter itself?
RED-85-Z51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 9:21am   #4
1911fool
A Real Barner
Points: 11,355, Level: 73
Activity: 0%
 
1911fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Where no one wants to be.
Posts: 2,158
Thanks: 177
Thanked 339 Times in 232 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $5315788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastguy View Post
You can either plug them or run a loop back into itself. Why no oil cooler?
I'm transplanting this motor into an '80 model Chevy C10. It won't be driven a lot. So I don't think I'll need it.
1911fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 9:22am   #5
1911fool
A Real Barner
Points: 11,355, Level: 73
Activity: 0%
 
1911fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Where no one wants to be.
Posts: 2,158
Thanks: 177
Thanked 339 Times in 232 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $5315788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RED-85-Z51 View Post
You sure the ports are on thr block, or in the filter adapter itself?
They're in the block, next to the oil pan rail. Gen V and VI had it this way.
1911fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33am.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - 2020 The Vette Barn


Support the Barn:
 
Download the Mobile App;
 
Follow us on Facebook:

Become a Stall Owner

 

Apple iOS App        Google Android App

 

Visit our Facebook page