Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn  
 
Go Back   The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic

Off Topic Off Topic - General non-Corvette related discussion.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2020, 3:51pm   #1
VatorMan
A Real Barner
NCM Supporter '11,'13
Bantayan Kids '13,'14,'17
Points: 57,227, Level: 100
Activity: 8.8%
 
VatorMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD.
Posts: 20,639
Thanks: 4,990
Thanked 7,120 Times in 3,708 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1158963
Default Electricity. It lets you know when it wants out

15KV Load break switch. Or should I say FORMER load break switch.
Attached Thumbnails
235 SCW 1.jpg  

235 SCW 2.jpg  

VatorMan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to VatorMan For This Useful Post:
Old 09-01-2020, 3:54pm   #2
BOTY
A Real Barner
Points: 26,341, Level: 100
Activity: 12.0%
 
BOTY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: IL
Posts: 24,290
Thanks: 15,088
Thanked 12,465 Times in 5,784 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $15019343
Default

Hello.
BOTY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 3:58pm   #3
FLEXjs
A Real Barner
Points: 6,536, Level: 55
Activity: 0.8%
 
FLEXjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1,927
Thanks: 237
Thanked 4,701 Times in 1,663 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $12967
Default

Metal-Clad switchgear is pretty heavy-duty. But 15KV is on the low end.

What's the application?
FLEXjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 4:04pm   #4
z06psi
Barn Stall Owner #∞
Points: 19,234, Level: 95
Activity: 52.8%
 
z06psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: GFY and STFU'ville
Posts: 8,024
Thanks: 1,164
Thanked 12,273 Times in 4,733 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $34677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLEXjs View Post
Metal-Clad switchgear is pretty heavy-duty. But 15KV is on the low end.

What's the application?
Wait till you have 440V at 300 amps blow up in your face with an arc flash.

I quit work for over an hour because of that. Took out the whole section of a FOB when I did that.


No voltage or amperage is on the low end.
z06psi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to z06psi For This Useful Post:
Old 09-01-2020, 4:05pm   #5
z06psi
Barn Stall Owner #∞
Points: 19,234, Level: 95
Activity: 52.8%
 
z06psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: GFY and STFU'ville
Posts: 8,024
Thanks: 1,164
Thanked 12,273 Times in 4,733 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $34677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VatorMan View Post
15KV Load break switch. Or should I say FORMER load break switch.
Failure or surge?
z06psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 4:10pm   #6
VatorMan
A Real Barner
NCM Supporter '11,'13
Bantayan Kids '13,'14,'17
Points: 57,227, Level: 100
Activity: 8.8%
 
VatorMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD.
Posts: 20,639
Thanks: 4,990
Thanked 7,120 Times in 3,708 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1158963
Default

We run a network(not IT) system here. This was a feeder for our Neutron research facility cooling system.

Failure- no surge.

I have told the bean counters many times electrical equipment should be in buildings. Nema 3R be damned
VatorMan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to VatorMan For This Useful Post:
Old 09-01-2020, 4:14pm   #7
z06psi
Barn Stall Owner #∞
Points: 19,234, Level: 95
Activity: 52.8%
 
z06psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: GFY and STFU'ville
Posts: 8,024
Thanks: 1,164
Thanked 12,273 Times in 4,733 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $34677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VatorMan View Post
We run a network(not IT) system here. This was a feeder for our Neutron research facility cooling system.

Failure- no surge.

I have told the bean counters many times electrical equipment should be in buildings. Nema 3R be damned
I know in all the critical comms facilities (Nuke Command and Control type shit) the incomers, transformers, UPS, Generators, switch gear are all in environmentally controlled areas.

Nothing is outside. Protection and to extend durability.
z06psi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to z06psi For This Useful Post:
Old 09-01-2020, 4:14pm   #8
FLEXjs
A Real Barner
Points: 6,536, Level: 55
Activity: 0.8%
 
FLEXjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1,927
Thanks: 237
Thanked 4,701 Times in 1,663 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $12967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z06psi View Post
No voltage or amperage is on the low end.
15KV is considered medium voltage but it's at the lower end of the scale.

My company makes medium voltage switchgear and although we do make 15KV stuff the majority is 27, 29, or 38KV

The metal clad stuff make by Eaton in the picture goes from 5 to 15KV so it's at the high end of that product line, for them, but not the high end for general switch applications typically used by electric companies.
FLEXjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 4:20pm   #9
z06psi
Barn Stall Owner #∞
Points: 19,234, Level: 95
Activity: 52.8%
 
z06psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: GFY and STFU'ville
Posts: 8,024
Thanks: 1,164
Thanked 12,273 Times in 4,733 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $34677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLEXjs View Post
15KV is considered medium voltage but it's at the lower end of the scale.

My company makes medium voltage switchgear and although we do make 15KV stuff the majority is 27, 29, or 38KV

The metal clad stuff make by Eaton in the picture goes from 5 to 15KV so it's at the high end of that product line, for them, but not the high end for general switch applications typically used by electric companies.
I know ABB and Siemens makes a lot of the higher end stuff.

Either one of those?
z06psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 4:22pm   #10
VatorMan
A Real Barner
NCM Supporter '11,'13
Bantayan Kids '13,'14,'17
Points: 57,227, Level: 100
Activity: 8.8%
 
VatorMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD.
Posts: 20,639
Thanks: 4,990
Thanked 7,120 Times in 3,708 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1158963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLEXjs View Post
15KV is considered medium voltage but it's at the lower end of the scale.

My company makes medium voltage switchgear and although we do make 15KV stuff the majority is 27, 29, or 38KV

The metal clad stuff make by Eaton in the picture goes from 5 to 15KV so it's at the high end of that product line, for them, but not the high end for general switch applications typically used by electric companies.
Most of our site is Eaton. Our 15KV substation is Eaton. Weíve had a couple of failures, but they handle them without too much fuss. Our building distribution is 480V and 208V. We do have 7 4160V chillers.
VatorMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 4:22pm   #11
VatorMan
A Real Barner
NCM Supporter '11,'13
Bantayan Kids '13,'14,'17
Points: 57,227, Level: 100
Activity: 8.8%
 
VatorMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD.
Posts: 20,639
Thanks: 4,990
Thanked 7,120 Times in 3,708 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1158963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z06psi View Post
I know ABB and Siemens makes a lot of the higher end stuff.

Either one of those?
FPE.
VatorMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 4:24pm   #12
Giraffe
Goldilocks
Barn Stall Owner #905

Bantayan Kids '13,'15
Points: 81,963, Level: 100
Activity: 79.2%
 
Giraffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bukkake ruined my carpet
Posts: 26,682
Thanks: 4,073
Thanked 11,635 Times in 5,264 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1009320
Default

Pffft. One of our generators puts out over 20,000 volts and goes through a step-up transformer to 345,000 volts.

Thatís it. Thatís all I know about the electrical side of our plant. Shit scares me. You can SEE a water leak. Electricity? Not so much.

Giraffe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 4:24pm   #13
Wathen1955
A Real Barner
Points: 31,838, Level: 100
Activity: 15.2%
 
Wathen1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Woodland, CA
Posts: 9,869
Thanks: 5,801
Thanked 4,535 Times in 1,588 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1524159
Default

Wathen1955 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wathen1955 For This Useful Post:
Old 09-01-2020, 4:28pm   #14
VatorMan
A Real Barner
NCM Supporter '11,'13
Bantayan Kids '13,'14,'17
Points: 57,227, Level: 100
Activity: 8.8%
 
VatorMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD.
Posts: 20,639
Thanks: 4,990
Thanked 7,120 Times in 3,708 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1158963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
Pffft. One of our generators puts out over 20,000 volts and goes through a step-up transformer to 345,000 volts.

Thatís it. Thatís all I know about the electrical side of our plant. Shit scares me. You can SEE a water leak. Electricity? Not so much.

I use a drone at work with IR and scope out PEPCOs 69KV feeders feeding us. Thatís as close as I get to arial power. Screw that. Ever watch those crazy SOBs that climb around on energized cables from a helicopter ?

I always wonder about the first guy that ever did that.
VatorMan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to VatorMan For This Useful Post:
Old 09-01-2020, 4:32pm   #15
Giraffe
Goldilocks
Barn Stall Owner #905

Bantayan Kids '13,'15
Points: 81,963, Level: 100
Activity: 79.2%
 
Giraffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bukkake ruined my carpet
Posts: 26,682
Thanks: 4,073
Thanked 11,635 Times in 5,264 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1009320
Default

We're started using drones to inspect our transmission lines too.
Giraffe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 4:38pm   #16
FLEXjs
A Real Barner
Points: 6,536, Level: 55
Activity: 0.8%
 
FLEXjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1,927
Thanks: 237
Thanked 4,701 Times in 1,663 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $12967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z06psi View Post
I know ABB and Siemens makes a lot of the higher end stuff.
No; those two and Eaton are competitors of ours.

I went to the IEEE T&D convention in Denver in 2018. I was walking around taking pics. Mostly I had no idea what I was looking at. I just took pics of stuff that looked cool to show Mrs Flex when I got back.

Wandered into the Eaton booth and some dude saw my company name on my lanyard and started giving me a a hard time about taking pics. I said "Dude, I'm in finance I don't even know wtf I am looking at."

He was not amused. Fukkem.
FLEXjs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FLEXjs For This Useful Post:
Old 09-01-2020, 4:42pm   #17
FLEXjs
A Real Barner
Points: 6,536, Level: 55
Activity: 0.8%
 
FLEXjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1,927
Thanks: 237
Thanked 4,701 Times in 1,663 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $12967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VatorMan View Post
Ever watch those crazy SOBs that climb around on energized cables from a helicopter ?
Yep, sales guy showed me this vid a while back. Freaky as hell.

Wild how they touch that rod to the power line to equalize the potential. I don't even get how that works.




FLEXjs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to FLEXjs For This Useful Post:
Old 09-01-2020, 4:44pm   #18
z06psi
Barn Stall Owner #∞
Points: 19,234, Level: 95
Activity: 52.8%
 
z06psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: GFY and STFU'ville
Posts: 8,024
Thanks: 1,164
Thanked 12,273 Times in 4,733 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $34677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLEXjs View Post
Yep, sales guy showed me this vid a while back. Freaky as hell.



Wild how they touch that rod to the power line to equalize the potential. I don't even get how that works.









High Voltage Cable Inspection - YouTube
They become part of the circuit.
z06psi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to z06psi For This Useful Post:
Old 09-01-2020, 4:52pm   #19
aerovette
Chief Electrician
Barn Stall Owner #7734

Bantayan Kids '15
Points: 60,088, Level: 100
Activity: 75.2%
 
aerovette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Socialist States of America
Posts: 26,343
Thanks: 9,863
Thanked 18,715 Times in 7,471 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $107478
Default

I worked in a lab that had three phase power supplying a dyno. It had three 350MCM cables at each phase at the breaker. The breaker blew and copper was splattered inside like it was hot wax.
aerovette is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 5:20pm   #20
Giraffe
Goldilocks
Barn Stall Owner #905

Bantayan Kids '13,'15
Points: 81,963, Level: 100
Activity: 79.2%
 
Giraffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bukkake ruined my carpet
Posts: 26,682
Thanks: 4,073
Thanked 11,635 Times in 5,264 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1009320
Default

This thread is shocking.

Giraffe is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Giraffe For This Useful Post:
Reply

The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40pm.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © 2009 - 2021 The Vette Barn


Support the Barn:
 
Download the Mobile App;
 
Follow us on Facebook:

Become a Stall Owner

 

Apple iOS App        Google Android App

 

Visit our Facebook page