Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn  
 
Go Back   The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic

Off Topic Off Topic - General non-Corvette related discussion.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2020, 6:19am   #61
09CTSV
Charter Member
Barn Raising II,III
Points: 16,144, Level: 87
Activity: 3.6%
 
09CTSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Warrick County, IN
Posts: 2,727
Thanks: 766
Thanked 1,103 Times in 465 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2106391
Default

Part of our incoming voltage is 15KV and part is 138KV. We routinely move power to the pot lines according to what the market does. Two of our transformers are on the 138KV feed and three of them on the 15KV, two of the four Generators feed our 15KV for the plant, one feeds 138KV and the fourth is a split ownership feeding the 138KV to the grid and us.
We consume about 97 MW per pot line, 300 MW total when all three are running. Our Reversing Mill surges 15 MW when it starts and stops. Very large motor on that mill.
We do a few strange things with our power. Type 1 and Type 2 demand interruptions. If the midwest grid needs power due to a power plant going offline, we can dump a pot line for up to 1 hour and give 100 MW to the grid. We also do a thing called Modulation, basically our tap changers on the transformers are controlled from the grid operators. We vary our amperage from 125,000 amps to 132,000 amps to help distribute load on the grid. Some pretty cool stuff with power around our plant.
And that panel pictured above, had one dance itself right off the wall with the arc flash. That was a 15KV substation panel.
09CTSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 6:26am   #62
mrvette
Latin American Goat Roper
Barn Stall Owner #101
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 88,581, Level: 100
Activity: 19.3%
 
mrvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange Park Florida
Posts: 50,719
Thanks: 25,550
Thanked 7,908 Times in 4,307 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1137641
Default

AND just now as I wuz trying to click on this thread, I had a power outage that lasted maybe 1/4 of a second, just enuff to force computer into a reboot....and of course wife goes to change channel on the TV and finger on rong button, so it's into a reboot also......so TWO reboots in same room, cause two separate causes......kan't win......

effing arthurongus acting up this AM, for no reason, so 1000 mg of ibuprofen....
mrvette is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mrvette For This Useful Post:
Old 09-06-2020, 10:02am   #63
FLEXjs
A Real Barner
Points: 8,706, Level: 64
Activity: 99.1%
 
FLEXjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2,251
Thanks: 214
Thanked 3,782 Times in 1,342 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $11202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvette View Post
I had a power outage that lasted maybe 1/4 of a second,
That is a recloser doing it's job.

When there's a fault it cuts power then recloses the circuit when the fault clears.

My company makes those.
FLEXjs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FLEXjs For This Useful Post:
Old 09-06-2020, 10:10am   #64
Thomas
Goldilocks
Barn Stall Owner #905

Bantayan Kids '13,'15
Points: 76,546, Level: 100
Activity: 44.6%
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bukkake ruined my carpet
Posts: 25,714
Thanks: 3,764
Thanked 10,368 Times in 4,770 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1008706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 09CTSV View Post
Part of our incoming voltage is 15KV and part is 138KV. We routinely move power to the pot lines according to what the market does. Two of our transformers are on the 138KV feed and three of them on the 15KV, two of the four Generators feed our 15KV for the plant, one feeds 138KV and the fourth is a split ownership feeding the 138KV to the grid and us.
We consume about 97 MW per pot line, 300 MW total when all three are running. Our Reversing Mill surges 15 MW when it starts and stops. Very large motor on that mill.
We do a few strange things with our power. Type 1 and Type 2 demand interruptions. If the midwest grid needs power due to a power plant going offline, we can dump a pot line for up to 1 hour and give 100 MW to the grid. We also do a thing called Modulation, basically our tap changers on the transformers are controlled from the grid operators. We vary our amperage from 125,000 amps to 132,000 amps to help distribute load on the grid. Some pretty cool stuff with power around our plant.
And that panel pictured above, had one dance itself right off the wall with the arc flash. That was a 15KV substation panel.
I imagine FERC compliance is a pretty big deal for you?
Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 10:36am   #65
mrvette
Latin American Goat Roper
Barn Stall Owner #101
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 88,581, Level: 100
Activity: 19.3%
 
mrvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange Park Florida
Posts: 50,719
Thanks: 25,550
Thanked 7,908 Times in 4,307 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1137641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLEXjs View Post
That is a recloser doing it's job.

When there's a fault it cuts power then recloses the circuit when the fault clears.

My company makes those.
GOOD, so the thing senses when there is an overload, could be a bad xfmr or maybe a down wire, so how does it know when the circuit is clean enough to reclose the connection??
mrvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 10:47am   #66
FLEXjs
A Real Barner
Points: 8,706, Level: 64
Activity: 99.1%
 
FLEXjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2,251
Thanks: 214
Thanked 3,782 Times in 1,342 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $11202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvette View Post
GOOD, so the thing senses when there is an overload, could be a bad xfmr or maybe a down wire, so how does it know when the circuit is clean enough to reclose the connection??
Reclosers are only used on overhead lines, because they frequently have temporary faults, like a tree branch or animal or something.

It will try 3 times to reclose and if the fault still exists it will stay in the open position.
FLEXjs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FLEXjs For This Useful Post:
Old 09-06-2020, 12:23pm   #67
09CTSV
Charter Member
Barn Raising II,III
Points: 16,144, Level: 87
Activity: 3.6%
 
09CTSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Warrick County, IN
Posts: 2,727
Thanks: 766
Thanked 1,103 Times in 465 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2106391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
I imagine FERC compliance is a pretty big deal for you?
Yes for our power plant. Whole bunch of regulations. We have our own power plant plus 4 tie lines feeding into/out of the plant. Vectren has a station next to us, Culley, which could feed one of the pot lines if needed. I've actually had to do the switching over to the Pot Line interchange when our power plant had issues with a Breaker for two of our pot lines. Christmas day last year, 3 hours of downtime on two of the lines. If we touch on 1 hour we are scrambling, two we are very nervous it might not recover. At 3 hours we are pretty sure we will loose at least 75 of the 150 pots. We came out of it not loosing a single pot.

Our rectifier road is pretty impressive with all the main regulating transformers, then the individual skid transformers and phase shift transformers. Line 3 has 1 Main and 10 rectifier transformers, Line 4 and 5 each have 1 main and 6 rectifier transformers. Each rectifier transformer feeds two skids. Each rectifier transformer can provide approximately 14KVA to the skids. The lines are 700VDC at 132,000 each.
Lots of air switches, pringles and Gas switches. For the rest of the plant there is a multitude of substations my Maintenance department is responsible for maintenance on. We keep two power engineers busy on our side plus the one at the power plant.

You can google Alcoa Warrick Operations and see the size of the plant.
Attached Thumbnails
Screen Shot 2020-09-06 at 1.27.09 PM.jpg  

09CTSV is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 09CTSV For This Useful Post:
Old 09-06-2020, 12:57pm   #68
mrvette
Latin American Goat Roper
Barn Stall Owner #101
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 88,581, Level: 100
Activity: 19.3%
 
mrvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange Park Florida
Posts: 50,719
Thanks: 25,550
Thanked 7,908 Times in 4,307 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1137641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 09CTSV View Post
Yes for our power plant. Whole bunch of regulations. We have our own power plant plus 4 tie lines feeding into/out of the plant. Vectren has a station next to us, Culley, which could feed one of the pot lines if needed. I've actually had to do the switching over to the Pot Line interchange when our power plant had issues with a Breaker for two of our pot lines. Christmas day last year, 3 hours of downtime on two of the lines. If we touch on 1 hour we are scrambling, two we are very nervous it might not recover. At 3 hours we are pretty sure we will loose at least 75 of the 150 pots. We came out of it not loosing a single pot.

Our rectifier road is pretty impressive with all the main regulating transformers, then the individual skid transformers and phase shift transformers. Line 3 has 1 Main and 10 rectifier transformers, Line 4 and 5 each have 1 main and 6 rectifier transformers. Each rectifier transformer feeds two skids. Each rectifier transformer can provide approximately 14KVA to the skids. The lines are 700VDC at 132,000 each.
Lots of air switches, pringles and Gas switches. For the rest of the plant there is a multitude of substations my Maintenance department is responsible for maintenance on. We keep two power engineers busy on our side plus the one at the power plant.

You can google Alcoa Warrick Operations and see the size of the plant.
Never heard the term before.....rectifier is easy......just a one way valve for current flow, when presented with current/voltage......so is the term transformer, changes the voltage/current levels between primary and secondary......but overall power is same on output and input, minus some small losses in the unit itself...it gets warm.....

but what is the relationship between those two distinct devices in that combo you mentioned there.......and WHY?? and the way you talked of it, sounds like those rectumflyers are VERY manly in their forward conduction in amps.....so what how/what are they made of???

I visited a few power plants in the early 80's when doing security work, and got a cooks tour of the joints, but never heard that what you speaking of.....

mrvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 3:00pm   #69
09CTSV
Charter Member
Barn Raising II,III
Points: 16,144, Level: 87
Activity: 3.6%
 
09CTSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Warrick County, IN
Posts: 2,727
Thanks: 766
Thanked 1,103 Times in 465 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2106391
Default

The transformer steps down the voltage from 15KV or 138KV to allow the rectifier (Diode Banks) to rectify the voltage from AC to 700 VDC for use in the pot lines. Each pot uses maximum of 5 volts, typically around 4.6 volts we just say 5) 150 pots x 4.6 = 700VDC with 132,000 amps flowing thru the open aluminum bus work. All the floors are ungrounded. You can walk up and touch the bus with no effect. Very high magnetism around the lines. We have to have special mobile equipment to drive over the bus in between the pots. Each room has 35 pots south and 40 pots north (75 per room). The power flows up one room and back to the rectifier in the other room. One skid at the rectifier is positive the other negative. Some pretty cool stuff with electricity.
The pots themselves are like a great big battery when you pull the main power off the line. They hold a couple volts apiece.
09CTSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 5:33pm   #70
mrvette
Latin American Goat Roper
Barn Stall Owner #101
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 88,581, Level: 100
Activity: 19.3%
 
mrvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange Park Florida
Posts: 50,719
Thanks: 25,550
Thanked 7,908 Times in 4,307 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1137641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 09CTSV View Post
The transformer steps down the voltage from 15KV or 138KV to allow the rectifier (Diode Banks) to rectify the voltage from AC to 700 VDC for use in the pot lines. Each pot uses maximum of 5 volts, typically around 4.6 volts we just say 5) 150 pots x 4.6 = 700VDC with 132,000 amps flowing thru the open aluminum bus work. All the floors are ungrounded. You can walk up and touch the bus with no effect. Very high magnetism around the lines. We have to have special mobile equipment to drive over the bus in between the pots. Each room has 35 pots south and 40 pots north (75 per room). The power flows up one room and back to the rectifier in the other room. One skid at the rectifier is positive the other negative. Some pretty cool stuff with electricity.
The pots themselves are like a great big battery when you pull the main power off the line. They hold a couple volts apiece.
OK, what you calling a POT, is short for potentiometer.....or volume control in typical speak......to MY way of thought.... so just what to those pots feed and how are they adjusted?? sorry to be a PITA, but an ancient tech head just wants/NEEDS to get his brain around something unknown.....
mrvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 11:24am   #71
09CTSV
Charter Member
Barn Raising II,III
Points: 16,144, Level: 87
Activity: 3.6%
 
09CTSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Warrick County, IN
Posts: 2,727
Thanks: 766
Thanked 1,103 Times in 465 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2106391
Default

In the Smelting terminology a Pot is the object which holds the Cathode blocks, Anode Blocks, Alumina, Coke and Flouride to create a Chemical reaction to produce Aluminum. The pot holds all the material and by passing electricity thru the cathode blocks and Anode Blocks creates a chemical reaction to produce the Aluminum.
This will explain it a little better.

Aluminium smelting - Wikipedia Aluminium smelting - Wikipedia
09CTSV is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 09CTSV For This Useful Post:
Reply

The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 5:31am.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - 2020 The Vette Barn


Support the Barn:
 
Download the Mobile App;
 
Follow us on Facebook:

Become a Stall Owner

 

Apple iOS App        Google Android App

 

Visit our Facebook page