Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn  
 
Go Back   The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic

Off Topic Off Topic - General non-Corvette related discussion.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2020, 8:39pm   #21
Grey Ghost
A Real Barner
Points: 35,296, Level: 100
Activity: 14.2%
 
Grey Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 16,897
Thanks: 8,566
Thanked 5,413 Times in 2,503 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $46272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snide View Post
Can't believe those assholes at Apple didn't put a printer port on the iPad.

Assholes.

What type of beer does she keep in her fridge? Hopefully not the same piss water you drink...
Centronics. What an upgrade from serial!

Our mainframe/COBOL programmers back in the '80s/'90s wanted color monitors to the IBM mainframe. Talk about crazy expensive! I think several thousands of $ back then. Along that time is when the 286 CPU came out. We could buy a 286 PC with an emulator card for far less. The graphic card was EGA/EGA monitor. There was a hot-key to hop between the mainframe and the PC side of things. Alt-Esc. With a mainframe you were only sending screen shots basically anyway. I know some people that dealt with propagating inventory to eCommerce sites found two or more monitors helpful.
Grey Ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 8:51pm   #22
snide
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '13
Bantayan Kids '17
Points: 105,669, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
 
snide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: I could never live there.
Posts: 122,282
Thanks: 90,395
Thanked 19,490 Times in 9,419 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $108033784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey Ghost View Post
Centronics. What an upgrade from serial!

Our mainframe/COBOL programmers back in the '80s/'90s wanted color monitors to the IBM mainframe. Talk about crazy expensive! I think several thousands of $ back then. Along that time is when the 286 CPU came out. We could buy a 286 PC with an emulator card for far less. The graphic card was EGA/EGA monitor. There was a hot-key to hop between the mainframe and the PC side of things. Alt-Esc. With a mainframe you were only sending screen shots basically anyway. I know some people that dealt with propagating inventory to eCommerce sites found two or more monitors helpful.
Back in the day, we were a VAR for DataPoint. Hardware was crazy expensive. When PCs hit the ground, we were able to compile our code on that platform and run. As PC hardware prices came down, I had two PCs on my desk, on an ARC network. I would write code on one PC and test on the other. Because network.

When monitors became cheap, and PCs could support two monitors, I went that route.

Now, in my home office, I have a 27" monitor attached to my MacBookPro. I have several apps/windows open, mostly overlapped, so I can access them quickly. My workstation doesn't support more than 2 external monitors, so I don't believe I need a second one.
snide is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to snide For This Useful Post:
Old 08-08-2020, 9:04pm   #23
Grey Ghost
A Real Barner
Points: 35,296, Level: 100
Activity: 14.2%
 
Grey Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 16,897
Thanks: 8,566
Thanked 5,413 Times in 2,503 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $46272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snide View Post
Back in the day, we were a VAR for DataPoint. Hardware was crazy expensive. When PCs hit the ground, we were able to compile our code on that platform and run. As PC hardware prices came down, I had two PCs on my desk, on an ARC network. I would write code on one PC and test on the other. Because network.

When monitors became cheap, and PCs could support two monitors, I went that route.

Now, in my home office, I have a 27" monitor attached to my MacBookPro. I have several apps/windows open, mostly overlapped, so I can access them quickly. My workstation doesn't support more than 2 external monitors, so I don't believe I need a second one.
Why MAC? Although my first was a Apple 2 GS.
Grey Ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 5:33am   #24
snide
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '13
Bantayan Kids '17
Points: 105,669, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
 
snide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: I could never live there.
Posts: 122,282
Thanks: 90,395
Thanked 19,490 Times in 9,419 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $108033784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey Ghost View Post
Why MAC? Although my first was a Apple 2 GS.
A few years ago, I was at a client site, along with my trusty Windows laptop. The consulting firm I was working with changed some settings on their database which made it impossible for me to log in and get my work done. That consulting firm would not provide any support or assistance, as I was a contractor, so I wasn't able to my work. Since I don't get paid to screw around, at lunch I went to the Apple store, which was a mile away. Walked up to one of their MacBookPros, typed in the URL for the database and was able to log in. Bought it right then and there, took it back to the client site, and was able to get back to work. Been using Macs ever since.

One of my colleagues on that project, another contractor, went to the Apple store the next day and bought a MacBook and started to use that for work too.
snide is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to snide For This Useful Post:
Old 08-09-2020, 6:11am   #25
Rodnok1
A Real Barner
Points: 9,866, Level: 68
Activity: 61.2%
 
Rodnok1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,800
Thanks: 819
Thanked 6,024 Times in 2,131 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $315482
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snide View Post

What type of beer does she keep in her fridge? Hopefully not the same piss water you drink...
Wish somebody would have gave me cat piss for a first drink.. I wouldn't drink either.
Rodnok1 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rodnok1 For This Useful Post:
Old 08-09-2020, 9:08am   #26
GentleBen
Barn Stall Owner #84
Barn Raising II,III,IV

NCM Supporter '12,'13,'14,'15,'16,'17,'19,'20,'21
Bantayan Kids '13,'14,'15,'17
GTMS 18
Points: 15,804, Level: 86
Activity: 1.4%
 
GentleBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 2,989
Thanks: 613
Thanked 1,706 Times in 804 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $112749
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by datawiz View Post
As I am old.
Hell, you won't even be 52 until tomorrow!
GentleBen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GentleBen For This Useful Post:
Old 08-09-2020, 9:16am   #27
Nox
A Real Barner
Points: 10,442, Level: 70
Activity: 3.2%
 
Nox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,353
Thanks: 27
Thanked 1,351 Times in 545 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $7601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by datawiz View Post
As I am old, and need reading glasses, and have 18 monitors....the purpose of this setup is to spread things out. I run a virtual machine on my computer that takes up the 6 monitors front and center. That VM has SQL Server, Postman, Delphi programming language, Excel, Windows folders, and text editors running at all times. Those alone get spread between those six monitors.

Additionally, I have a remote control session to my notebook on 1 monitor, and I have email (3 clients spread across 2 monitors), I have family chat on Kakao on others....I can go on and on, but at the end of the day, the point of doing this is you never have to hunt for the active window. With this setup, you just turn your head. You place everything where you know it is and it's there. Ping from a child? Just look up. Email from a client...just look left.

I NEVER have to hunt. It's ALWAYS there. Multiply those actions times 100 or more and you'll understand why I do what I do. I use all 18 monitors all day, every day. The time savings alone pay for the setup. GWiz subscribes to this lifestyle.
The sweet spot for me is just two screens. My main screen is an ultra-wide screen. I can open multiple windows on my main screen which usually consists of the main document I am working on and a comparative document beside it. The second screen is for Netflix, Youtube or whatever entertainment I am watching while I get my work done. If I had as many screens as you, Id actually lose productivity from the distractions. The third undocumented screen is my cellphone where I prefer to get my texts and even my emails.
Nox is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Nox For This Useful Post:
Old 08-09-2020, 10:02am   #28
Iron Chef
Barn Stall Owner #1
Barn Raising I, II
NCM Supporter '11, '12
Points: 42,069, Level: 100
Activity: 9.5%
 
Iron Chef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: VB Know-It-All
Posts: 10,098
Thanks: 1,569
Thanked 7,339 Times in 2,514 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2299270
Default

Can you launch anything with that shit?
Iron Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 10:17am   #29
datawiz
VB Dad of the Year
Barn Stall Owner #9

Barn Raising I,II
NCM Supporter '11,'12,'13,'14,'15,'16,'17,'19,'20,'21
Bantayan Kids '13,'14,'15,'17
GTMS 18
Points: 89,652, Level: 100
Activity: 26.7%
 
datawiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Myers
Posts: 30,821
Thanks: 7,200
Thanked 14,360 Times in 6,150 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $35999378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Chef View Post
Can you launch anything with that shit?
Well for a moment, we couldn't even log in. Microsoft in it's infinite wisdom did an update last night rendering the mouse and keyboard useless. After much trial and error, we were able to force the computer into a system restore and now it works again. Thanks MSFT...not!

I think the bigger issue is the fact that the computer has been in storage since March. Previous restore point available was March 10th, but seriously Microsoft? You render a computer useless with an update? What would the average Joe do? Go buy another computer (with another OS that you get paid for)?

OK...now back to the previous launch.
datawiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 10:18am   #30
Iron Chef
Barn Stall Owner #1
Barn Raising I, II
NCM Supporter '11, '12
Points: 42,069, Level: 100
Activity: 9.5%
 
Iron Chef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: VB Know-It-All
Posts: 10,098
Thanks: 1,569
Thanked 7,339 Times in 2,514 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2299270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by datawiz View Post
OK...now back to the previous launch.
Y'all aren't right.
Iron Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 11:37am   #31
snide
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '13
Bantayan Kids '17
Points: 105,669, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
 
snide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: I could never live there.
Posts: 122,282
Thanks: 90,395
Thanked 19,490 Times in 9,419 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $108033784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by datawiz View Post
Well for a moment, we couldn't even log in. Microsoft in it's infinite wisdom did an update last night rendering the mouse and keyboard useless. After much trial and error, we were able to force the computer into a system restore and now it works again. Thanks MSFT...not!

I think the bigger issue is the fact that the computer has been in storage since March. Previous restore point available was March 10th, but seriously Microsoft? You render a computer useless with an update? What would the average Joe do? Go buy another computer (with another OS that you get paid for)?

OK...now back to the previous launch.
You still use Windows? How cute.
snide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 11:50am   #32
datawiz
VB Dad of the Year
Barn Stall Owner #9

Barn Raising I,II
NCM Supporter '11,'12,'13,'14,'15,'16,'17,'19,'20,'21
Bantayan Kids '13,'14,'15,'17
GTMS 18
Points: 89,652, Level: 100
Activity: 26.7%
 
datawiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Myers
Posts: 30,821
Thanks: 7,200
Thanked 14,360 Times in 6,150 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $35999378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snide View Post
You still use Windows? How cute.
At least it's steady work.
datawiz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to datawiz For This Useful Post:
Reply

The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 4:03pm.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - 2021 The Vette Barn


Support the Barn:
 
Download the Mobile App;
 
Follow us on Facebook:

Become a Stall Owner

 

Apple iOS App        Google Android App

 

Visit our Facebook page