Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn  
 
Go Back   The Vette Barn > C5 Corvette > C5 Open Discussion

C5 Open Discussion General and technical C5 Corvette discussion - ownership, maintenance, repairs, modifications, tuning

User Tag List

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2014, 03:26am   #1
cyrilraymond
Vette Barn nOOb
Points: 185, Level: 3
Activity: 0%
 
cyrilraymond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: CA
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $500585
Default AC Compressor swap..

Since mine crapped on me a week or so ago. I plan on replacing it myself.
Any thoughts on how hard this is. Most say its a PITA! but I wont have a shop do it just because I dont want to pay someone.
I am not the most mechanically inclined but with a manual and a friend or 2 I figured it could be done in a few hours?

It happened at VA Speed open house. It was not blowing cold air on the way there but I have never had it charged. The noise it made ED said the compressor was shot. But could it but the clutch assembly is shot? I will get a video of the noise tomorrow. Because it didnt make the rattling noise on the way there.
cyrilraymond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 02:24pm   #2
RonC5
Barn Stall Owner #1969
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '12,'13,'14,'15,'17
Points: 14,630, Level: 83
Activity: 21.9%
 
RonC5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,811
Thanks: 759
Thanked 1,249 Times in 619 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $131419
Default

System has to be evacuated first, all belts and water pump removed to get the compressor out. You need to also replace the drier and the oriface tube. The system will need to be flushed and then recharged. Not something for a novice, find someone with experience doing this type of work.
RonC5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 01:36pm   #3
Sneaks
Charter Member - C5 Mod
Barn Stall Owner #41
Points: 18,910, Level: 95
Activity: 0%
 
Sneaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: hagerstown, md
Posts: 5,816
Thanks: 1,206
Thanked 1,289 Times in 825 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $8192878
Default

Ed is back at Va Speed? When did this happen? Last time I was there, he had left.
As for the compressor, it's a pretty straight forward job. Like Ron said above, belts, water pump have to come off to replace it. Find the low pressure side shrader valve and give it a push. If you hear hissing, like air coming out, then you "should" have it evacuated first. That's up to you. It won't do the system any harm if you don't, but there are federal laws governing recovery of refrigerant.
You WILL need a professional to vacuum and replace the R-134. Also, since you have to remove the water pump anyway, might as well replace it also. It isn't a big ticket item, so two birds with one stone thing.
Sneaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 01:50pm   #4
DropTheTop
Charter Member
Barn Stall Owner #777
Points: 19,071, Level: 95
Activity: 0%
 
DropTheTop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: If they told you that wolverines would make good house pets . . . would you believe them?
Posts: 8,541
Thanks: 3,791
Thanked 1,412 Times in 926 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $6589239
Default

One thing I've always wondered - When you do work to an A/C system, how long can you drive around before getting it filled and charged?
DropTheTop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 11:10am   #5
Sneaks
Charter Member - C5 Mod
Barn Stall Owner #41
Points: 18,910, Level: 95
Activity: 0%
 
Sneaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: hagerstown, md
Posts: 5,816
Thanks: 1,206
Thanked 1,289 Times in 825 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $8192878
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DropTheTop View Post
One thing I've always wondered - When you do work to an A/C system, how long can you drive around before getting it filled and charged?
Depends on how fast you want to kill your new compressor. Driving around with a new compressor without PAG oil and freon is a fast way to blow several hundred bucks.
Sneaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 11:17am   #6
DropTheTop
Charter Member
Barn Stall Owner #777
Points: 19,071, Level: 95
Activity: 0%
 
DropTheTop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: If they told you that wolverines would make good house pets . . . would you believe them?
Posts: 8,541
Thanks: 3,791
Thanked 1,412 Times in 926 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $6589239
Default

That's what I feared. So what's the best process for the DIY guy to do the grunt work, but have it filled/charged professionally?

Last edited by DropTheTop; 12-12-2014 at 02:07pm.
DropTheTop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 01:29pm   #7
RonC5
Barn Stall Owner #1969
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '12,'13,'14,'15,'17
Points: 14,630, Level: 83
Activity: 21.9%
 
RonC5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,811
Thanks: 759
Thanked 1,249 Times in 619 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $131419
Default

yep.
RonC5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 09:44pm   #8
Sneaks
Charter Member - C5 Mod
Barn Stall Owner #41
Points: 18,910, Level: 95
Activity: 0%
 
Sneaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: hagerstown, md
Posts: 5,816
Thanks: 1,206
Thanked 1,289 Times in 825 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $8192878
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DropTheTop View Post
That's what I feared. So what's the best process for the DIY guy to do the grunt work, but have it filled/charged professionally?
Do the work, let the compressor suck up a shot of PAG oil and refrigerant, then drive it to whomever you're going to have do the work. Or, just make sure to leave the HVAC control off and drive it to the mechanic. The clutch itself won't be harmed, and the compressor will be fine so long as the clutch isn't engaged.
Sneaks is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sneaks For This Useful Post:
Old 05-25-2015, 12:43pm   #9
Chuck A
Loves Green Corvettes
Points: 33,606, Level: 100
Activity: 4.3%
 
Chuck A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 11,505
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2,036 Times in 1,708 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1000354
Default

can i harm ac compressor if i have no freon is in it, and the compressor is running?
Chuck A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 06:51am   #10
Sneaks
Charter Member - C5 Mod
Barn Stall Owner #41
Points: 18,910, Level: 95
Activity: 0%
 
Sneaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: hagerstown, md
Posts: 5,816
Thanks: 1,206
Thanked 1,289 Times in 825 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $8192878
Default

If there is no PAG oil in it, yes.
Sneaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

The Vette Barn > C5 Corvette > C5 Open Discussion


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57am.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - 2019 The Vette Barn


Support the Barn:
 
Download the Mobile App;
 
Follow us on Facebook:

Become a Stall Owner

 

Apple iOS App        Google Android App

 

Visit our Facebook page