Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn  
 
Go Back   The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic

Off Topic Off Topic - General non-Corvette related discussion.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2022, 12:00pm   #1
aerovette
Chief Electrician
Barn Stall Owner #7734

Bantayan Kids '15
Points: 74,662, Level: 100
Activity: 99.2%
 
aerovette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: It's insulting when liberals think we're as stupid as they are.
Posts: 32,000
Thanks: 12,171
Thanked 24,682 Times in 9,712 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $107478
Default Media room question

Believe it or not, sometimes even MY electronic/electrical expertise is challenged

I have a media room upstairs that has a TV for regular viewing, and a projector for movies.

My amp for surround is typical with multiple HDMI inputs and a signal output.

My problem is this...with one output on the receiver, I can run the cable box in, the BluRay in, or Game console in and then the output to the TV. I can't get an output to the projector though, unless I physically unplug one cable and plug another in.

I don't think hubs work in reverse. They are usually multiple in and single out just like the receiver. I need on in and two out so I can decide which device (TV or Projector) gets the signal.

Any ideas?
aerovette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2022, 12:03pm   #2
DJ_Critterus
Explosive Salami
Stall Owner #1120.2520
Points: 85,860, Level: 100
Activity: 99.4%
 
DJ_Critterus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The leeward side of Anger Island
Posts: 37,945
Thanks: 14,336
Thanked 18,206 Times in 7,889 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $9018209
Default

it's called a hub...

https://www.amazon.com/s?k=hdmi+spli...ref=nb_sb_noss

The 2nd device listed (TEKNET) will probably work best for you.
DJ_Critterus is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DJ_Critterus For This Useful Post:
Old 08-03-2022, 12:08pm   #3
Mick
A Real Barner
Points: 10,504, Level: 70
Activity: 43.5%
 
Mick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4,215
Thanks: 1,067
Thanked 4,425 Times in 1,916 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $12721
Default

How is the engine stand set up?
Mick is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mick For This Useful Post:
Old 08-03-2022, 6:53pm   #4
IrishSpuds
Vette Barn Crew
Points: 4,531, Level: 45
Activity: 8.3%
 
IrishSpuds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 525
Thanks: 257
Thanked 426 Times in 184 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1604
Default

ARC return.
IrishSpuds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2022, 7:14pm   #5
Stevedore
Bantayan Kids '17
Points: 12,776, Level: 78
Activity: 6.9%
 
Stevedore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Long Valley, NJ
Posts: 2,252
Thanks: 1,013
Thanked 903 Times in 482 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $406058
Default

A simple HDMI splitter should work. And you'd only need ARC if the audio source is from within the projector or the TV. I think.
Stevedore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2022, 7:45pm   #6
MadInNc
Barn Stall Owner #103
Points: 118,981, Level: 100
Activity: 99.3%
 
MadInNc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: North Cackalaky
Posts: 16,941
Thanks: 7,313
Thanked 23,179 Times in 7,656 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $108939
Default

Paging @kingpin
MadInNc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MadInNc For This Useful Post:
Old 08-03-2022, 9:44pm   #7
ratflinger
Barn Stall Owner #THX1138
Points: 11,950, Level: 75
Activity: 51.1%
 
ratflinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South of SA
Posts: 1,932
Thanks: 688
Thanked 1,619 Times in 738 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1322
Default

Get a better receiver then. One with 4 or 5 inputs
ratflinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2022, 9:52pm   #8
aerovette
Chief Electrician
Barn Stall Owner #7734

Bantayan Kids '15
Points: 74,662, Level: 100
Activity: 99.2%
 
aerovette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: It's insulting when liberals think we're as stupid as they are.
Posts: 32,000
Thanks: 12,171
Thanked 24,682 Times in 9,712 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $107478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratflinger View Post
Get a better receiver then. One with 4 or 5 inputs
Why? How does that solve the problem?
aerovette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2022, 9:14pm   #9
Thunder22
A Real Barner
Points: 15,884, Level: 86
Activity: 26.1%
 
Thunder22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 4,121
Thanks: 647
Thanked 2,698 Times in 1,251 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $216475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratflinger View Post
Get a better receiver then. One with 4 or 5 inputs
RIF.... he needs 2 outputs, already has multiple inputs.
Thunder22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2022, 9:35pm   #10
ratflinger
Barn Stall Owner #THX1138
Points: 11,950, Level: 75
Activity: 51.1%
 
ratflinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South of SA
Posts: 1,932
Thanks: 688
Thanked 1,619 Times in 738 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1322
Default

Negasonic Teenage Warhead: Okay, you’ve got me in a box here.
ratflinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2022, 10:19pm   #11
aerovette
Chief Electrician
Barn Stall Owner #7734

Bantayan Kids '15
Points: 74,662, Level: 100
Activity: 99.2%
 
aerovette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: It's insulting when liberals think we're as stupid as they are.
Posts: 32,000
Thanks: 12,171
Thanked 24,682 Times in 9,712 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $107478
Default

I have a solution (thanks DJ). It is a splitter for mirroring two monitors. In my case the same signal will go to the TV and the projector. I just choose which one to power on and watch it. The other mirrored signal will go to the device that is turned off.
aerovette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 1:44pm   #12
theandies
Vette Barn Crew
Points: 3,190, Level: 36
Activity: 17.6%
 
theandies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Virginia
Posts: 663
Thanks: 246
Thanked 635 Times in 242 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $500
Default

I use an HDMI switch box. One input and multiple outputs. There are manual ones that you have to switch, one's with remotes and one that detects what's feeding it and switches automatically. This might work as it has two inputs and multiple outs.
Example:
https://www.amazon.com/ZAMO-Switcher...ps%2C66&sr=8-8

【HDMI Switch 2 in 4 out HDCP 2.2】avedio links hdmi 2 input 4 output 2X4 switcher splitter can easily streams video and audio from 2 HDMI devices to 4 HDMI display simultaneously .Supports HDCP 2.2 protocol compliant HDMI 2.0(Note: The four HDMI output ports can only display the same screen and split display is not supported.)
【Vedio &Audio】4K HDMI Switch Selector box supports up to Ultra HD [email protected] resolution RGB/YUV 4:4:4 .,[email protected],Full HD 1080P,720P,3D, HDMI 2.0, It also supports 3.5mm and SPDIF audio output.
【Wide Compatibility】 avedio links 2x4 HDMI switch box compatible with computer, Blu-ray player, DVD player, AV receiver, Roku streaming media player, TV Box, Play Station 3/4, PS5, Xbox One/360 or other HDMI compatible devices to your Ultra 4K TV (UHD TV), HDTV, monitor, display or projector with a big screen.
【Features】DOWNSCALING:avedio links HDMI switch 2 in 4 out can output 4k and 1080p at the same time.HDR 10: Help you enjoy a vivid visual world! All ZAMO products are backed by our 12-Month Product Warranty and you will always get friendly support.
【Plug and Play】 This 4K HDMI Switch is easy to set up and operate, just power it with AC adapter and connect your HDMI devices to enjoy! TWO-WAY SWITCH:Supports manual select input sources through a built-in button or use of IR remote controller without having to get up from your seat.
theandies is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theandies For This Useful Post:
Old 08-06-2022, 6:49pm   #13
Thunder22
A Real Barner
Points: 15,884, Level: 86
Activity: 26.1%
 
Thunder22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 4,121
Thanks: 647
Thanked 2,698 Times in 1,251 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $216475
Default

just a heads up for when you're ready to replace your avr - my yamaha 7850 has 2 HDMI outputs.
Thunder22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:43pm.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © 2009 - 2022 The Vette Barn


Support the Barn:
 
Download the Mobile App;
 
Follow us on Facebook:

Become a Stall Owner

 

Apple iOS App        Google Android App

 

Visit our Facebook page