Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn  
 
Go Back   The Vette Barn > C5 Corvette > C5 Open Discussion

C5 Open Discussion General and technical C5 Corvette discussion - ownership, maintenance, repairs, modifications, tuning

User Tag List

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2010, 9:20pm   #1
Munch
Charter Member
Barn Stall Owner #00
Points: 20,302, Level: 98
Activity: 0.4%
 
Munch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 4,966
Thanks: 462
Thanked 706 Times in 516 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2041880
Default Why move the MAF?

Honestly I don't know what the stock MAF location is but on my car with a Vararam it's before the air bridge and I see on some cars it's after the airbridge butted up to the throttle body. So what's the reason for moving it around?
__________________
00 MY coupe

Some minor tweaks here and there.
Munch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 9:47pm   #2
Y2Kvert4me
Administrator
Barn Stall Owner #7
Barn Raising I,II,IV

NCM Supporter '13,'14
Points: 30,563, Level: 100
Activity: 1.9%
 
Y2Kvert4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pewaukee,WI
Posts: 8,145
Thanks: 1,019
Thanked 4,800 Times in 2,159 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $31912617
Default

I think the intent behind the relocation is to "straighten" the airflow and cause the MAF to report more accurately. Airflow going around sharp bends tends to be more turbulent, and that cannot help a sensor.

Now, with that said, I wouldn't advise doing so unless you can also make the tuning changes. The stock location (in front of airbridge) may not be ideal, but that's where it was when the car was tuned, and the tune reflects that. If you still have your screened MAF, this relocation may not be a big deal, as that screen is in place to straighten airflow....It's the '02/later Z06s that have the most problems with inaccuracies caused by air filter systems because the MAFs on those cars have no screen.

The MAF is a rather sensitive device, and it does have a major impact on how the PCM fuels the engine.

Bottom line concerning the relocation...There is probably little to be gained, and a lot to be lost if you don't have the ability to compensate the tune for the actual differences the change did make.


Y2Kvert4me is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Y2Kvert4me For This Useful Post:
Old 06-12-2010, 10:07pm   #3
Sneaks
Charter Member - C5 Mod
Barn Stall Owner #41
Points: 19,293, Level: 95
Activity: 0%
 
Sneaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: hagerstown, md
Posts: 5,816
Thanks: 1,206
Thanked 1,290 Times in 826 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $8192878
Default

Most are re-located due to air intake requirements I think.
__________________
'98 Pewter coupe. A little of this and a little of that.....
Sneaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 10:13pm   #4
Munch
Charter Member
Barn Stall Owner #00
Points: 20,302, Level: 98
Activity: 0.4%
 
Munch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 4,966
Thanks: 462
Thanked 706 Times in 516 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2041880
Default

I guess mine is in the stock location which is cool, I don't mind it being there. I just wondered why some are moved. I didn't like the wire loom that went to it going over the radiator shroud but I relocated that so ya don't see it.
__________________
00 MY coupe

Some minor tweaks here and there.
Munch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 11:43pm   #5
Eagleeye
Charter Member
Points: 7,754, Level: 61
Activity: 0%
 
Eagleeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Providence Forge Va.
Posts: 405
Thanks: 74
Thanked 33 Times in 25 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2288
Default

Left mine in original position...'01 Z
Eagleeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 8:44pm   #6
71corv
Charter Member
Points: 7,200, Level: 59
Activity: 0%
 
71corv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mechanicsville,Va
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1383
Default

Have mine in front and have not had any problems. 02 ZO6

Gene
71corv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 12:52am   #7
MattW
Barn Stall Owner #81
Barn Raising II
Points: 4,813, Level: 47
Activity: 19.1%
 
MattW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nashville Tennessee
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 105
Thanked 191 Times in 131 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $5242
Default

Some folks report a surging engine effect around 1500 rpm with the Vararam installed. I seem to have that problem. Vmmm Vmmm Vmmm... jerky. There are a few posts in other Tech sections which say moving the MAF to the TB side of the air bridge, eliminates the surging.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 11:53am   #8
Eagleeye
Charter Member
Points: 7,754, Level: 61
Activity: 0%
 
Eagleeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Providence Forge Va.
Posts: 405
Thanks: 74
Thanked 33 Times in 25 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2288
Default

Or add an aftermarket screen if yours is '02 or later...
Eagleeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 12:07pm   #9
Cobra4B
Charter Member
Points: 7,981, Level: 62
Activity: 0.3%
 
Cobra4B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 1,702
Thanks: 43
Thanked 213 Times in 162 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $8830
Default

I have yanked the screen on both '01 Z06s I've had w/o any issues. This go around I did it because the MAF was nasty and filled with debris from an improperly sealed OEM inake.

On my old Z I had a Haltech Veonom on it for a bit before I sold the car and that moves the MAF just ahead of the TB which is where GM put it in the C6s.

The car had no issues and ran the same. GM moved it there to allow for straigher airflow and more accurate MAF readings. From what I heard the screens in the earlier C5 MAFs were simply a carry-over from the same part being used on the truck engines where the intake tract was much curvier and the air neede the screen to straighten it before flowing over the MAF.

This is why they were able to remove it on the '02-'04Z... but for some reason they went back to the screen with the C6... not sure if later model C6s have the screen or not.

I've also heard it said that the screen does nothing to affect airflow since the total passage of the MAF with the screen is still larger then the TB opening.
Cobra4B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

The Vette Barn > C5 Corvette > C5 Open Discussion


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:03pm.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - 2020 The Vette Barn


Support the Barn:
 
Download the Mobile App;
 
Follow us on Facebook:

Become a Stall Owner

 

Apple iOS App        Google Android App

 

Visit our Facebook page