Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn  
 
Go Back   The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic

Off Topic Off Topic - General non-Corvette related discussion.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2019, 08:09pm   #1
carlton_fritz
Barn Stall Owner #1991
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 51,979, Level: 100
Activity: 13.9%
 
carlton_fritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brains and bewbs. The motherload.
Posts: 26,859
Thanks: 9,401
Thanked 3,457 Times in 2,302 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $36500325
Default Which computer genius wants to help me tonight?

Trying to get a new build using my old SSD that has Win 10 on it. New build doesn't recognize the SSD. I cannot change anything in BIOS either. I tried loading Windows 7 from the DVD drive, but the keyboard quits working when I try that.
carlton_fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 08:16pm   #2
snide
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '13
Bantayan Kids '17
Points: 91,349, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
 
snide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: I could never live there.
Posts: 52,984
Thanks: 27,046
Thanked 10,656 Times in 5,550 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $119006472
Default

Here you go.
snide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 08:31pm   #3
JRD77VET
Barn Stall Owner #327
NCM Supporter '16,'17,'19
Bantayan Kids '13,'14,'15,'17
GTMS 18
Points: 76,268, Level: 100
Activity: 99.3%
 
JRD77VET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Zionsville,PA
Posts: 38,052
Thanks: 18,093
Thanked 14,252 Times in 6,409 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $5969171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snide View Post
Here you go.
JRD77VET is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to JRD77VET For This Useful Post:
Old 08-27-2019, 08:39pm   #4
Wathen1955
A Real Barner
Points: 23,199, Level: 100
Activity: 38.9%
 
Wathen1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Woodland, CA
Posts: 6,540
Thanks: 3,276
Thanked 2,512 Times in 1,013 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1519861
Default

By chance, do you have any other drives connected?
Was the original SSD wiped before starting your new build?
Wathen1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 08:44pm   #5
carlton_fritz
Barn Stall Owner #1991
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 51,979, Level: 100
Activity: 13.9%
 
carlton_fritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brains and bewbs. The motherload.
Posts: 26,859
Thanks: 9,401
Thanked 3,457 Times in 2,302 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $36500325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wathen1955 View Post
By chance, do you have any other drives connected?
Was the original SSD wiped before starting your new build?
The SSD has all old info, including Win 10, on it. The other drives are a Seagate Back-Ups +, an M.s and a DVD drive. Currently trying to install Win 10 from disc, but not sure if it's working.
carlton_fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 08:55pm   #6
Wathen1955
A Real Barner
Points: 23,199, Level: 100
Activity: 38.9%
 
Wathen1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Woodland, CA
Posts: 6,540
Thanks: 3,276
Thanked 2,512 Times in 1,013 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1519861
Default

Can you install 10 from a USB flash drive?
Have you tried different cables? I've had to replace them once when the drive was not recognized.
Wathen1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 08:57pm   #7
carlton_fritz
Barn Stall Owner #1991
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 51,979, Level: 100
Activity: 13.9%
 
carlton_fritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brains and bewbs. The motherload.
Posts: 26,859
Thanks: 9,401
Thanked 3,457 Times in 2,302 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $36500325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wathen1955 View Post
Can you install 10 from a USB flash drive?
Is it the newer version of 10?
I don't have it on USB. The SSD Win 10 was the upgrade and updated version when I had Win 7.
carlton_fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 09:08pm   #8
carlton_fritz
Barn Stall Owner #1991
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 51,979, Level: 100
Activity: 13.9%
 
carlton_fritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brains and bewbs. The motherload.
Posts: 26,859
Thanks: 9,401
Thanked 3,457 Times in 2,302 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $36500325
Default

Unhooked everything but the DVD and M.2. Installing Windows 10, maybe.
carlton_fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 09:27pm   #9
Wathen1955
A Real Barner
Points: 23,199, Level: 100
Activity: 38.9%
 
Wathen1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Woodland, CA
Posts: 6,540
Thanks: 3,276
Thanked 2,512 Times in 1,013 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1519861
Default

The upgrade only works once on existing hardware. You need to get a new copy of 10 for new hardware. I would suggest getting the PRO version so you can delay updates; otherwise, you are at the mercy of MS and their questionable updates.
Wathen1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wathen1955 For This Useful Post:
Old 08-27-2019, 10:26pm   #10
carlton_fritz
Barn Stall Owner #1991
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 51,979, Level: 100
Activity: 13.9%
 
carlton_fritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brains and bewbs. The motherload.
Posts: 26,859
Thanks: 9,401
Thanked 3,457 Times in 2,302 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $36500325
Default

It's late enough. I will finish fighting it after I get sleep.
carlton_fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 06:43am   #11
Mike Mercury
Chief Meat Gazer
Charter Member
Barn Stall Owner #98
Barn Raising II,III,IV
Points: 94,840, Level: 100
Activity: 99.1%
 
Mike Mercury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 31,753
Thanks: 10,480
Thanked 18,798 Times in 7,550 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $5122933
Default

contact these guys:


















Mike Mercury is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mike Mercury For This Useful Post:
Old 09-02-2019, 10:04pm   #12
carlton_fritz
Barn Stall Owner #1991
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 51,979, Level: 100
Activity: 13.9%
 
carlton_fritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brains and bewbs. The motherload.
Posts: 26,859
Thanks: 9,401
Thanked 3,457 Times in 2,302 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $36500325
Default

New CPU is running, but old SSD and internal HD not showing in the list of drives. Been spending a lot of time downloading pron, I mean mods for Skyrim.
carlton_fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 02:02am   #13
snide
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '13
Bantayan Kids '17
Points: 91,349, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
 
snide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: I could never live there.
Posts: 52,984
Thanks: 27,046
Thanked 10,656 Times in 5,550 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $119006472
Default

SSDs don't last forever. It is possible that it shit the bed.
snide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 07:26am   #14
Cybercowboy
2016 Election Expert
Barn Stall Owner #64
Points: 46,173, Level: 100
Activity: 52.8%
 
Cybercowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 17,155
Thanks: 902
Thanked 8,154 Times in 3,986 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $11375155
Default

Yeah, in my experience if a new computer doesn't recognize an old drive, and you've done the obvious like try a different cable and motherboard connector, the drive is either dead or incompatible somehow. But probably just dead. SSD's go from working to brick in a heartbeat, there is usually no warning. I'd just use the opportunity to get a bigger better new SSD.
Cybercowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 09:55am   #15
carlton_fritz
Barn Stall Owner #1991
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 51,979, Level: 100
Activity: 13.9%
 
carlton_fritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brains and bewbs. The motherload.
Posts: 26,859
Thanks: 9,401
Thanked 3,457 Times in 2,302 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $36500325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snide View Post
SSDs don't last forever. It is possible that it shit the bed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybercowboy View Post
Yeah, in my experience if a new computer doesn't recognize an old drive, and you've done the obvious like try a different cable and motherboard connector, the drive is either dead or incompatible somehow. But probably just dead. SSD's go from working to brick in a heartbeat, there is usually no warning. I'd just use the opportunity to get a bigger better new SSD.
What are the odds that the SSD died exactly as I changed out MB, CPU and RAM? The power was unplugged and the switch turned off when I did everything.
carlton_fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 11:23am   #16
Cybercowboy
2016 Election Expert
Barn Stall Owner #64
Points: 46,173, Level: 100
Activity: 52.8%
 
Cybercowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 17,155
Thanks: 902
Thanked 8,154 Times in 3,986 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $11375155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlton_fritz View Post
What are the odds that the SSD died exactly as I changed out MB, CPU and RAM? The power was unplugged and the switch turned off when I did everything.
ESD damage most likely. You're shocked that you shocked it? Shocking.

I learned a long time ago that if you are working on computers and don't account for static electricity it will absolutely bite you in the ass. And it will bite you even if you take precautions sometimes.
Cybercowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Cybercowboy For This Useful Post:
Old 09-03-2019, 11:26am   #17
carlton_fritz
Barn Stall Owner #1991
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 51,979, Level: 100
Activity: 13.9%
 
carlton_fritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brains and bewbs. The motherload.
Posts: 26,859
Thanks: 9,401
Thanked 3,457 Times in 2,302 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $36500325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybercowboy View Post
ESD damage most likely. You're shocked that you shocked it? Shocking.

I learned a long time ago that if you are working on computers and don't account for static electricity it will absolutely bite you in the ass. And it will bite you even if you take precautions sometimes.
Done that before, but there was no sign of it this build. I deliberately tried to avoid it.
carlton_fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 12:28pm   #18
dvarapala
Vette Barn Crew
Points: 3,891, Level: 41
Activity: 18.8%
 
dvarapala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: SoCal
Posts: 570
Thanks: 53
Thanked 110 Times in 76 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $3115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlton_fritz View Post
What are the odds that the SSD died exactly as I changed out MB, CPU and RAM? The power was unplugged and the switch turned off when I did everything.
It's not unheard of.

I run a Linux machine as my Internet gateway. It normally runs 24/7, but at one point I had to power it down to swap out a cable modem. When I tried to power it back up it was completely dead.
dvarapala is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dvarapala For This Useful Post:
Old 09-03-2019, 09:44pm   #19
Wathen1955
A Real Barner
Points: 23,199, Level: 100
Activity: 38.9%
 
Wathen1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Woodland, CA
Posts: 6,540
Thanks: 3,276
Thanked 2,512 Times in 1,013 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1519861
Default

I sent you a PM response. As others have said, it's possible it was DOA. It does happen, even with mechanical drives. My suggestion is to slave it with an adapter that you can hook up via USB on another pc.
Wathen1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wathen1955 For This Useful Post:
Reply

The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15am.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - 2019 The Vette Barn


Support the Barn:
 
Download the Mobile App;
 
Follow us on Facebook:

Become a Stall Owner

 

Apple iOS App        Google Android App

 

Visit our Facebook page