Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn  
 
Go Back   The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic

Off Topic Off Topic - General non-Corvette related discussion.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2021, 4:49pm   #1
aerovette
Chief Electrician
Barn Stall Owner #7734

Bantayan Kids '15
Points: 62,463, Level: 100
Activity: 81.6%
 
aerovette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Socialist States of America
Posts: 27,103
Thanks: 10,159
Thanked 19,707 Times in 7,835 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $107478
Default OLD PC Windows 7

I have an old PC that I use for recording music. It serves no other purpose except an occasional net surf for a particular song.

Lately it has been telling me there is limited hard drive space. I have deleted everything I can off of it to strip it down to just the IS and a browser. It is still saying it.

I only have user access since that is what was on the post it that was stuck to it. There are some programs it says I need specific admin rights for.

Is there a way to back up the OS on to the cloud, reformat the hard drive (it's 500G) and then reload the OS? I do NOT have a product key or install disks.

Thank you
aerovette is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 4:56pm   #2
Rodnok1
A Real Barner
Points: 13,877, Level: 81
Activity: 99.2%
 
Rodnok1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,864
Thanks: 1,606
Thanked 9,694 Times in 3,283 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $315482
Default

You can run a program to pull the product keys off the computer, it'll give you a print out.
I use Belarc advisor think its called. Then i wack the drive and start over, you can download the iso/installation stuff for windows needed and use a flash drive or burn to a dvd.
I keep copies so if a system burns up and i can't find the original keys i have them all on a printout.
Rodnok1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 4:59pm   #3
aerovette
Chief Electrician
Barn Stall Owner #7734

Bantayan Kids '15
Points: 62,463, Level: 100
Activity: 81.6%
 
aerovette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Socialist States of America
Posts: 27,103
Thanks: 10,159
Thanked 19,707 Times in 7,835 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $107478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodnok1 View Post
You can run a program to pull the product keys off the computer, it'll give you a print out.
I use Belarc advisor think its called. Then i wack the drive and start over, you can download the iso/installation stuff for windows needed and use a flash drive or burn to a dvd.
I keep copies so if a system burns up and i can't find the original keys i have them all on a printout.
Oh hell. Does BelArc do that? I forgot.

What's the process for getting the OS on to a disk or external drive?
aerovette is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 5:11pm   #4
Rodnok1
A Real Barner
Points: 13,877, Level: 81
Activity: 99.2%
 
Rodnok1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,864
Thanks: 1,606
Thanked 9,694 Times in 3,283 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $315482
Default

If all you want to do is get an admin account that can be done.

I don't back up shit for programs, just any data i know i want to keep. Pics, music, etc.
If you have your edited data location just back it up and do a clean install.
Rodnok1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 5:25pm   #5
aerovette
Chief Electrician
Barn Stall Owner #7734

Bantayan Kids '15
Points: 62,463, Level: 100
Activity: 81.6%
 
aerovette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Socialist States of America
Posts: 27,103
Thanks: 10,159
Thanked 19,707 Times in 7,835 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $107478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodnok1 View Post
If all you want to do is get an admin account that can be done.

I don't back up shit for programs, just any data i know i want to keep. Pics, music, etc.
If you have your edited data location just back it up and do a clean install.
If I back up and reformat and reload, I'll be in the same place I am now.
aerovette is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 5:31pm   #6
Rodnok1
A Real Barner
Points: 13,877, Level: 81
Activity: 99.2%
 
Rodnok1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,864
Thanks: 1,606
Thanked 9,694 Times in 3,283 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $315482
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aerovette View Post
If I back up and reformat and reload, I'll be in the same place I am now.
You must have misread... I do not backup the OS, clean install then you're an admin. Load only what you want to, throw in extra drive if needed for space(i keep one just for movies and music). If there is a specific program you need the data from back it up(export /import if needed) first.
Rodnok1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 7:14pm   #7
snide
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '13
Bantayan Kids '17
Points: 119,751, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
 
snide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: I could never live there.
Posts: 156,459
Thanks: 122,014
Thanked 23,834 Times in 11,194 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $108033784
Default

Find all the cache folders and delete the contents. Delete the contents of the download folders. Run the defrag utility.
snide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 7:52pm   #8
Grey Ghost
A Real Barner
Points: 37,738, Level: 100
Activity: 40.9%
 
Grey Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 17,454
Thanks: 8,857
Thanked 5,958 Times in 2,680 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $46272
Default

How many partitions?
Grey Ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 8:06pm   #9
Wathen1955
A Real Barner
Points: 32,939, Level: 100
Activity: 23.1%
 
Wathen1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Woodland, CA
Posts: 10,177
Thanks: 6,023
Thanked 4,806 Times in 1,655 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1524159
Default

Run the following:
Clean out the recycling bin
Run CCLEANER (program you may need to download - it's free). Make sure you select all the browsers to clean them out which includes any cache files and cookies. It will state how much space can be recovered.
Run DISK CLEANUP (windows program) - clean up system files. I don't have 7 running, but I think it's under Accessories - System Tools.
Wathen1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 8:09pm   #10
dvarapala
Barn Stall Owner #1120
NCM Supporter '20,'21
Points: 29,282, Level: 100
Activity: 94.5%
 
dvarapala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: La Isla de Ira
Posts: 9,227
Thanks: 1,873
Thanked 11,634 Times in 4,781 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1030760
Default

Install Linux on it.
dvarapala is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dvarapala For This Useful Post:
Old 04-03-2021, 9:14am   #11
Touringmike
A Real Barner
Points: 12,364, Level: 76
Activity: 2.8%
 
Touringmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sussex, Wi
Posts: 2,306
Thanks: 315
Thanked 1,047 Times in 573 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $610854
Default

Buy a new laptop and be done with problems.
Touringmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 10:39am   #12
BayouCountry
Barn Stall Owner #105
Points: 1,256, Level: 20
Activity: 19.5%
 
BayouCountry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 387
Thanks: 61
Thanked 565 Times in 236 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $500
Default

I installed a SSD in an old laptop I use as a media PC connected to my TV. It's just about as fast as a new laptop. All I needed to do was login to MS with my ID to license Windows 10. The laptop came with Win7. I created an installer USB drive to load the OS.

Check out how hard it is to replace the hard drive before you try this. I did the same to my daughters laptop and it was a PITA to replace the hard drive.
BayouCountry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 12:57pm   #13
aerovette
Chief Electrician
Barn Stall Owner #7734

Bantayan Kids '15
Points: 62,463, Level: 100
Activity: 81.6%
 
aerovette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Socialist States of America
Posts: 27,103
Thanks: 10,159
Thanked 19,707 Times in 7,835 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $107478
Default

It's actually a desktop workstation. I was hoping it was a simple as inserting a USB drive, slide Windows in to it, dump everything, then insert the USB.

That's how easy it SHOULD be.
aerovette is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to aerovette For This Useful Post:
Old 04-03-2021, 12:59pm   #14
snide
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '13
Bantayan Kids '17
Points: 119,751, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
 
snide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: I could never live there.
Posts: 156,459
Thanks: 122,014
Thanked 23,834 Times in 11,194 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $108033784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aerovette View Post
It's actually a desktop workstation. I was hoping it was a simple as inserting a USB drive, slide Windows in to it, dump everything, then insert the USB.

That's how easy it SHOULD be.
Is today your first day using Windows?
snide is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47am.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - 2021 The Vette Barn


Support the Barn:
 
Download the Mobile App;
 
Follow us on Facebook:

Become a Stall Owner

 

Apple iOS App        Google Android App

 

Visit our Facebook page