Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn  
 
Go Back   The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic

Off Topic Off Topic - General non-Corvette related discussion.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2021, 6:42pm   #1
78SA
A Real Barner
Points: 49,291, Level: 100
Activity: 3.4%
 
78SA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: So. IN
Posts: 42,031
Thanks: 27,453
Thanked 3,127 Times in 1,977 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $3632152
Default Looks like tic tac toe lines on my screen.

I don't know how it happened. I don't know how to get rid of it. Anyone have any ideas?
78SA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2021, 7:22pm   #2
78SA
A Real Barner
Points: 49,291, Level: 100
Activity: 3.4%
 
78SA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: So. IN
Posts: 42,031
Thanks: 27,453
Thanked 3,127 Times in 1,977 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $3632152
Default

Click image for larger version

Name:	Resized_20210516_201610.jpeg
Views:	87
Size:	590.8 KB
ID:	56711
78SA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 78SA For This Useful Post:
Old 05-16-2021, 7:24pm   #3
markids77
A Real Barner
Points: 16,901, Level: 89
Activity: 12.1%
 
markids77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: sweatin' on the oldies
Posts: 10,819
Thanks: 6,282
Thanked 2,844 Times in 1,683 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1000483
Default

Laptop? Wiggle the screen and see if it changes. The hinge connection might be worn or corroded. I get green pixels crawling through my image unless I shake the screen a bit.
markids77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2021, 7:33pm   #4
78SA
A Real Barner
Points: 49,291, Level: 100
Activity: 3.4%
 
78SA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: So. IN
Posts: 42,031
Thanks: 27,453
Thanked 3,127 Times in 1,977 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $3632152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markids77 View Post
Laptop? Wiggle the screen and see if it changes. The hinge connection might be worn or corroded. I get green pixels crawling through my image unless I shake the screen a bit.
Desktop monitor.
78SA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2021, 7:36pm   #5
bill_daniels
10cm member
Barn Stall Owner #90125

NCM Supporter '19,'20
Points: 124,756, Level: 100
Activity: 68.5%
 
bill_daniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Houston, Tejas, Estados Unidos
Posts: 48,935
Thanks: 17,105
Thanked 21,761 Times in 10,040 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2621492
Default

Subscribed. I don't have any answers, but my older Samsung TV has vertical lines throughout the whole screen when I turn it on most of the time. They usually lessen and disappear within maybe 10 minutes or less, then I get the usual, crisp picture.
bill_daniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2021, 7:37pm   #6
gs568
A Real Barner
Points: 5,942, Level: 52
Activity: 57.3%
 
gs568's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: America
Posts: 2,242
Thanks: 1,496
Thanked 2,116 Times in 581 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1002182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 78SA View Post
Desktop monitor.
Only one monitor??? OMG.
gs568 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to gs568 For This Useful Post:
Old 05-16-2021, 7:51pm   #7
78SA
A Real Barner
Points: 49,291, Level: 100
Activity: 3.4%
 
78SA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: So. IN
Posts: 42,031
Thanks: 27,453
Thanked 3,127 Times in 1,977 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $3632152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gs568 View Post
Only one monitor??? OMG.
That's for my oldest computer that I use.

The monitor isn't but a couple years old.
78SA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2021, 8:06pm   #8
z06psi
Barn Stall Owner #∞
Points: 19,595, Level: 96
Activity: 24.6%
 
z06psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: GFY and STFU'ville
Posts: 8,078
Thanks: 1,167
Thanked 12,431 Times in 4,784 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $34677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gs568 View Post
Only one monitor??? OMG.
Not ballah
z06psi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to z06psi For This Useful Post:
Old 05-16-2021, 8:56pm   #9
Rodnok1
A Real Barner
Points: 12,999, Level: 78
Activity: 99.2%
 
Rodnok1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,345
Thanks: 1,392
Thanked 8,859 Times in 3,017 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $315482
Default

Have you unplugged it and let it sit for a bit? Next up hook to different source see if its the monitor or card/computer go from there.
Rodnok1 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rodnok1 For This Useful Post:
Old 05-16-2021, 11:22pm   #10
Torqaholic
A Real Barner
Points: 17,026, Level: 90
Activity: 15.3%
 
Torqaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 4,042
Thanks: 50
Thanked 1,052 Times in 681 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $15637580
Default

First thing I would guess is magnetic flux interference. Perhaps a pair of speakers, router, or some other electric gizmo is sitting too close to the screen or the cable leading to it.
Torqaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2021, 11:41pm   #11
dvarapala
Barn Stall Owner #1120
NCM Supporter '20,'21
Points: 28,421, Level: 100
Activity: 70.2%
 
dvarapala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: La Isla de Ira
Posts: 8,893
Thanks: 1,785
Thanked 11,028 Times in 4,568 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1030760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 78SA View Post
@datawiz has monitors that look just like that.
dvarapala is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dvarapala For This Useful Post:
Old 05-17-2021, 6:06am   #12
snide
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '13
Bantayan Kids '17
Points: 115,982, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
 
snide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: I could never live there.
Posts: 150,203
Thanks: 116,178
Thanked 23,201 Times in 10,919 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $108033784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 78SA View Post
Desktop monitor.
Time for a new one.
snide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 6:32am   #13
mrvette
Latin American Goat Roper
Barn Stall Owner #101
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 94,115, Level: 100
Activity: 33.6%
 
mrvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange Park Florida
Posts: 52,301
Thanks: 26,673
Thanked 8,580 Times in 4,585 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1138393
Default

Showed that pix to my wife, she has never seen that on the monitor.....BUT when she takes a pix of the monitor display, the pix has those lines in it.....




SO>>>>>>>>
mrvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 7:13am   #14
datawiz
VB Dad of the Year
Barn Stall Owner #9

Barn Raising I,II
NCM Supporter '11,'12,'13,'14,'15,'16,'17,'19,'20,'21
Bantayan Kids '13,'14,'15,'17
GTMS 18
Points: 95,247, Level: 100
Activity: 40.3%
 
datawiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Myers
Posts: 31,872
Thanks: 7,673
Thanked 15,708 Times in 6,619 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $35999378
Default

My Asus monitors had an alignment grid that accidentally got turned on. https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1042616/
datawiz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to datawiz For This Useful Post:
Old 05-17-2021, 5:31pm   #15
78SA
A Real Barner
Points: 49,291, Level: 100
Activity: 3.4%
 
78SA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: So. IN
Posts: 42,031
Thanks: 27,453
Thanked 3,127 Times in 1,977 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $3632152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by datawiz View Post
My Asus monitors had an alignment grid that accidentally got turned on. https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1042616/
That was it.
78SA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to 78SA For This Useful Post:
Old 05-17-2021, 5:59pm   #16
datawiz
VB Dad of the Year
Barn Stall Owner #9

Barn Raising I,II
NCM Supporter '11,'12,'13,'14,'15,'16,'17,'19,'20,'21
Bantayan Kids '13,'14,'15,'17
GTMS 18
Points: 95,247, Level: 100
Activity: 40.3%
 
datawiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Myers
Posts: 31,872
Thanks: 7,673
Thanked 15,708 Times in 6,619 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $35999378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 78SA View Post
That was it.
Congrats on the fix!
datawiz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to datawiz For This Useful Post:
Old 05-17-2021, 7:35pm   #17
78SA
A Real Barner
Points: 49,291, Level: 100
Activity: 3.4%
 
78SA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: So. IN
Posts: 42,031
Thanks: 27,453
Thanked 3,127 Times in 1,977 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $3632152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by datawiz View Post
Congrats on the fix!
Thanks. I knew someone here would know.
78SA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 78SA For This Useful Post:
Old 05-17-2021, 8:35pm   #18
snide
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '13
Bantayan Kids '17
Points: 115,982, Level: 100
Activity: 99.5%
 
snide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: I could never live there.
Posts: 150,203
Thanks: 116,178
Thanked 23,201 Times in 10,919 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $108033784
Default

...
Attached Thumbnails
78sa-tic-tac-toe.jpeg  

snide is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to snide For This Useful Post:
Old 05-18-2021, 7:41am   #19
bill_daniels
10cm member
Barn Stall Owner #90125

NCM Supporter '19,'20
Points: 124,756, Level: 100
Activity: 68.5%
 
bill_daniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Houston, Tejas, Estados Unidos
Posts: 48,935
Thanks: 17,105
Thanked 21,761 Times in 10,040 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2621492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by datawiz View Post
My Asus monitors had an alignment grid that accidentally got turned on. https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1042616/
Quote:
Originally Posted by 78SA View Post
That was it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by datawiz View Post
Congrats on the fix!
Quote:
Originally Posted by 78SA View Post
Thanks. I knew someone here would know.
bill_daniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 10:31am   #20
DJ_Critterus
Stall Owner #1120.2520
Points: 67,291, Level: 100
Activity: 88.7%
 
DJ_Critterus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: I enjoy long romantic walks to the fridge.
Posts: 28,302
Thanks: 9,920
Thanked 9,240 Times in 4,295 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $9018209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqaholic View Post
First thing I would guess is magnetic flux interference. Perhaps a pair of speakers, router, or some other electric gizmo is sitting too close to the screen or the cable leading to it.
This leads me to believe he needs to repair the flux capacitor.
DJ_Critterus is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DJ_Critterus For This Useful Post:
Reply

The Vette Barn > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:49pm.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - 2021 The Vette Barn


Support the Barn:
 
Download the Mobile App;
 
Follow us on Facebook:

Become a Stall Owner

 

Apple iOS App        Google Android App

 

Visit our Facebook page