The Vette Barn

The Vette Barn (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/index.php)
-   Off Topic (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   How many of you are self-employed? (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63163)

lspencer534 02-19-2014 6:05pm

How many of you are self-employed?

I am. I've been practicing law for about 35 years, first as an associate in a two-member firm, then a partner, then as a solo practitioner when my partner retired. My daughter recently joined me, but she's my employee on a salary.

In all the years I've been self-employed, there's not been a month that I didn't wonder whether I'd make any money. I always have, but I still worry. As you know, all your clients/customers could leave you tomorrow...or today. Of course, there's taxes, equipment, supplies, salaries, mortgage/rent, etc. to pay every month, and there seems to be no way to bring their costs down.

Still, I could never work for womeone else...I'd probably get fired. How about you other business owners? Is it a love/hate relationship like mine? Or better or worse than that? BTW, what kind of business do you have? And if you're not self-employed, would you plan/like to be?

Sea Six 02-19-2014 6:07pm

It'll be sixteen years this May.

I wouldn't have it any other way. :)

MrPeabody 02-19-2014 6:14pm

I have been several times, although I never had any full time employees. Working on a car lot on commission only is similar to being self employed. Every day is what you make out of it.

The only thing negative I found about being self employed is it is almost impossible to go back to working for somebody else and be happy. I'm glad I'm retired, I'm too old and cranky to take orders from someone else. I have outgrown my tolerance for stupidity. If I ever work again it will be something on my own.

snide 02-19-2014 6:30pm