The Vette Barn

The Vette Barn (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/index.php)
-   Off Topic (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Here’s the deal (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=122137)

SnikPlosskin 03-29-2020 8:06pm

Here’s the deal

I’m going to share something very personal. I’m sure some with less than stellar character will later use this against me. That’s on them.

I’ve been fighting hella depression for 25 years. With most of your neurotransmitters created in your gut, depression is just about guaranteed with Crohns Disease.

I also have leukemia. It’s a damn miracle I’ve lived this long.

This causes some issues with my brain chemistry. But not sadness. Mostly fatigue.

But knowing your life is fragile and that your family will out live you is, frankly, depressing. Hiding from viruses 365 days a year is stressful. Waking up in the hospital 2-5x a year is frightening.

My dad taught me that “you can only do your best. If you can go to bed at night and truthfully say you did your best, all is good.”

I do my best. I may come back at someone who is insensitive, cruel or derogatory but I’m never one who instigates. Most of the time I just let it go.

What I hope is that we can be kinder to each other. I’ve had several people say incredibly insensitive things about me dying and it gets old.

There is something really wrong with anyone blessed with a healthy and strong body and mind ripping on those less fortunate. It’s a low blow that should never be used.

If you don’t like something I say or post, try skipping the thread. Or put me on ignore.