The Vette Barn

The Vette Barn (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/index.php)
-   Off Topic (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   PC Building Question: Reuse 4-year-old high quality PSU (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=124296)

Will 12-11-2020 3:14pm

PC Building Question: Reuse 4-year-old high quality PSU
 
Any of you computer nerds see a problem with me being cheap and re-using my 4 year old power supply for a "new" build? It's an EVGA 850 Watt Platinum rated PSU. Seems like a shame not to reuse it, especially since I'd probably only want another 4-5 years out of it before I upgrade CPU/Mobo again.

Only other parts I'd be re-using are my case and my GPU (GTX 1080) since you can't find a new card at MSRP right now, and I don't need one right away anyway.

Still rocking an i5-4570, Asus B85M Motherboard, and 16GB of 1600MHz DDR3 RAM. :rofl: Held up surprisingly well through 3 different GPUs, which is why it's taken so long for me to replace it. Even over the last few years with the GTX 1080 card and a 1440p G-Sync monitor I was able to get high framerates with mostly high or ultra settings. Guess I don't usually play the most CPU-intensive titles. But I have noticed it showing its age finally this year, plus I'm tired of having a PS3 take up space in the bonus room just for NCAA Football 14, and I can't emulate it on RPCS3 with this tired CPU.

New 5800x would have been nice and I had a MOBO picked out and was excited to try an AMD build, BUT availability is an issue and out of the blue I got a great deal on an i9-10850k so staying Intel for another build. Never had any problems with my ASUS stuff, but I'm going with an MSI Mobo this time because it has better reviews and a lower price than the closest Asus Mobo with everything I want.

Anyway, back to the question - yea or nay on reusing my 4 year old PSU? I checked the box and it has an additional CPU cable to be able to power these newer boards with 8+4 pin CPU connections.

And while I'm asking questions, any issues staying with an air cooler for these 10th gen Intel chips? Case is massive, open, gets plenty of airflow and I do push/pull with fans on both sides of the cooler:

https://i.imgur.com/YiJTBq6.jpg

dvarapala 12-11-2020 3:31pm

I re-use power supplies all the time, especially now that power supplies are rare and expensive. I have a couple that are at least 10 years old by now. :D

Raazor 12-11-2020 3:31pm

phred's a nerd and should be able help.

@phredthemaskedupnerd

Y2Kvert4me 12-11-2020 3:33pm

That unit should have a 10 year warranty. Unless it's lacking some connector the new mobo needs (doubtful), no reason to not continue using it.

:cert:

The_Dude 12-11-2020 3:42pm

I'd reuse it.

Will 12-11-2020 4:18pm

Thank you for validating my cheapness. Yes, it has a 10 year warranty, and yes it has the cables I'll need still in the box for the new MOBO and CPU.

Gonna replace those crappy LED Corsair fans with some all black Noctua fans and just let the MOBO & GPU lights, and maybe some RGB RAM, light up the interior. Less is more.

:dance:

Anjdog2003 12-11-2020 4:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raazor (Post 1831797)
@phredthemaskedupnerd







:funniest::funniest::funniest::funniest::funniest::funniest::funnier::funnier::funnier::funnier::funnier::funnier::Jeff '79::Jeff '79::Jeff '79::Jeff '79::Jeff '79:

Anjdog2003 12-11-2020 4:27pm

usc jr. 2-8

:sadangel:

Iron Chef 12-11-2020 6:22pm

[datawiz] Set up 63 monitors, 10 banks of speakers, multiplex them into 16TB worth of data storage, install an uplink to Machu Pichu which connects 4 satellites, have a groundlink to NORAD and upgrade the breaker panel in your house so you can do this all from your spare bedroom [/datawiz]

:D

:leaving:

Stangkiller 12-11-2020 8:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Iron Chef (Post 1831879)
[datawiz] Set up 63 monitors, 10 banks of speakers, multiplex them into 16TB worth of data storage, install an uplink to Machu Pichu which connects 4 satellites, have a groundlink to NORAD and upgrade the breaker panel in your house so you can do this all from your spare bedroom [/datawiz]

:D

:leaving:

Only four satellites? But how much did it cost?

snide 12-11-2020 8:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stangkiller (Post 1831930)
Only four satellites? But how much did it cost?

[Datawiz]I'm billing out at 36 hours a day right now so cost is a rare elephant. [/Datawiz] @datawiz

:leaving:

z06psi 12-11-2020 8:54pm

Nope not at all.

datawiz 12-11-2020 9:11pm

Amateurs. :lol:

datawiz 12-11-2020 9:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Iron Chef (Post 1831879)
[datawiz] Set up 63 monitors, 10 banks of speakers, multiplex them into 16TB worth of data storage, install an uplink to Machu Pichu which connects 4 satellites, have a groundlink to NORAD and upgrade the breaker panel in your house so you can do this all from your spare bedroom [/datawiz]

:D

:leaving:

16 TB is weak sauce. My tower now has 100 TB. :leaving:

z06psi 12-11-2020 9:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by datawiz (Post 1831974)
16 TB is weak sauce. My tower now has 100 TB. :leaving:

Porn dealer?

Uncle Meat 12-12-2020 5:45am

My 800-watt platinum Seasonic is now powering it's 3rd box in 6 years. If it's a quality unit keep using it.

U.M.

tjfontaine 12-12-2020 6:54pm

https://photos.app.goo.gl/5kKrZF3DfXKHEMk16

Hey Craig - I just added two 40" 4K monitors to my setup - of course, I don't need it for work - I am retired - use it for video editing, tv watching, extra internet surfing space, etc.

datawiz 12-12-2020 7:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjfontaine (Post 1832477)
https://photos.app.goo.gl/5kKrZF3DfXKHEMk16

Hey Craig - I just added two 40" 4K monitors to my setup - of course, I don't need it for work - I am retired - use it for video editing, tv watching, extra internet surfing space, etc.

:hurray:

Pics?

When's your C8 arriving? Are we picking ours up together again?

Egnalf 12-12-2020 7:02pm

since much of this is greek to me, i assume its computer crap. ill ask the network guy that works for me next time i go to the office. i havent been there since like february.

Will 12-17-2020 1:35pm

Well, after getting everything else on sale I went ahead and paid full MSRP for the motherboard I'm using so I could get everything before Christmas.

Parts marked $0 are being carried over from my current desktop.

$850 for everything, and hopefully sometime next year another $699 for an RTX 3080 GPU if they're ever available to normal human beings who aren't using bots to snag them for crypto-mining.

https://i.imgur.com/Maa3tqD.png


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:17am.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - 2021 The Vette Barn