The Vette Barn

The Vette Barn (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/index.php)
-   Off Topic (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Electricity. It lets you know when it wants out (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=123520)

VatorMan 09-01-2020 3:51pm

Electricity. It lets you know when it wants out
 
2 Attachment(s)
15KV Load break switch. Or should I say FORMER load break switch.

BOTY 09-01-2020 3:54pm

Hello. :leaving:

FLEXjs 09-01-2020 3:58pm

Metal-Clad switchgear is pretty heavy-duty. But 15KV is on the low end.

What's the application?

z06psi 09-01-2020 4:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FLEXjs (Post 1801583)
Metal-Clad switchgear is pretty heavy-duty. But 15KV is on the low end.

What's the application?

Wait till you have 440V at 300 amps blow up in your face with an arc flash.

I quit work for over an hour because of that. Took out the whole section of a FOB when I did that. :rofl:


No voltage or amperage is on the low end.

z06psi 09-01-2020 4:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VatorMan (Post 1801574)
15KV Load break switch. Or should I say FORMER load break switch.

Failure or surge?

VatorMan 09-01-2020 4:10pm

We run a network(not IT) system here. This was a feeder for our Neutron research facility cooling system.

Failure- no surge.

I have told the bean counters many times electrical equipment should be in buildings. Nema 3R be damned

z06psi 09-01-2020 4:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VatorMan (Post 1801599)
We run a network(not IT) system here. This was a feeder for our Neutron research facility cooling system.

Failure- no surge.

I have told the bean counters many times electrical equipment should be in buildings. Nema 3R be damned

I know in all the critical comms facilities (Nuke Command and Control type shit) the incomers, transformers, UPS, Generators, switch gear are all in environmentally controlled areas.

Nothing is outside. Protection and to extend durability.

FLEXjs 09-01-2020 4:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by z06psi (Post 1801593)
No voltage or amperage is on the low end.

15KV is considered medium voltage but it's at the lower end of the scale.

My company makes medium voltage switchgear and although we do make 15KV stuff the majority is 27, 29, or 38KV

The metal clad stuff make by Eaton in the picture goes from 5 to 15KV so it's at the high end of that product line, for them, but not the high end for general switch applications typically used by electric companies.

z06psi 09-01-2020 4:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FLEXjs (Post 1801603)
15KV is considered medium voltage but it's at the lower end of the scale.

My company makes medium voltage switchgear and although we do make 15KV stuff the majority is 27, 29, or 38KV

The metal clad stuff make by Eaton in the picture goes from 5 to 15KV so it's at the high end of that product line, for them, but not the high end for general switch applications typically used by electric companies.

I know ABB and Siemens makes a lot of the higher end stuff.

Either one of those?

VatorMan 09-01-2020 4:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FLEXjs (Post 1801603)
15KV is considered medium voltage but it's at the lower end of the scale.

My company makes medium voltage switchgear and although we do make 15KV stuff the majority is 27, 29, or 38KV

The metal clad stuff make by Eaton in the picture goes from 5 to 15KV so it's at the high end of that product line, for them, but not the high end for general switch applications typically used by electric companies.

Most of our site is Eaton. Our 15KV substation is Eaton. Weíve had a couple of failures, but they handle them without too much fuss. Our building distribution is 480V and 208V. We do have 7 4160V chillers.

VatorMan 09-01-2020 4:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by z06psi (Post 1801608)
I know ABB and Siemens makes a lot of the higher end stuff.

Either one of those?

FPE. :funnier::funnier::funnier:

Giraffe 09-01-2020 4:24pm

Pffft. One of our generators puts out over 20,000 volts and goes through a step-up transformer to 345,000 volts.

Thatís it. Thatís all I know about the electrical side of our plant. Shit scares me. You can SEE a water leak. Electricity? Not so much.

:rofl:

Wathen1955 09-01-2020 4:24pm


VatorMan 09-01-2020 4:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thomas (Post 1801612)
Pffft. One of our generators puts out over 20,000 volts and goes through a step-up transformer to 345,000 volts.

Thatís it. Thatís all I know about the electrical side of our plant. Shit scares me. You can SEE a water leak. Electricity? Not so much.

:rofl:

I use a drone at work with IR and scope out PEPCOs 69KV feeders feeding us. Thatís as close as I get to arial power. Screw that. Ever watch those crazy SOBs that climb around on energized cables from a helicopter ?

I always wonder about the first guy that ever did that.

Giraffe 09-01-2020 4:32pm

We're started using drones to inspect our transmission lines too.

FLEXjs 09-01-2020 4:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by z06psi (Post 1801608)
I know ABB and Siemens makes a lot of the higher end stuff.

No; those two and Eaton are competitors of ours.

I went to the IEEE T&D convention in Denver in 2018. I was walking around taking pics. Mostly I had no idea what I was looking at. I just took pics of stuff that looked cool to show Mrs Flex when I got back.

Wandered into the Eaton booth and some dude saw my company name on my lanyard and started giving me a a hard time about taking pics. I said "Dude, I'm in finance I don't even know wtf I am looking at."

He was not amused. Fukkem. :rofl:

FLEXjs 09-01-2020 4:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VatorMan (Post 1801614)
Ever watch those crazy SOBs that climb around on energized cables from a helicopter ?

Yep, sales guy showed me this vid a while back. Freaky as hell.

Wild how they touch that rod to the power line to equalize the potential. I don't even get how that works.

:leaving:



z06psi 09-01-2020 4:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FLEXjs (Post 1801620)
Yep, sales guy showed me this vid a while back. Freaky as hell.



Wild how they touch that rod to the power line to equalize the potential. I don't even get how that works.



:leaving:





High Voltage Cable Inspection - YouTube

They become part of the circuit.

aerovette 09-01-2020 4:52pm

I worked in a lab that had three phase power supplying a dyno. It had three 350MCM cables at each phase at the breaker. The breaker blew and copper was splattered inside like it was hot wax.

Giraffe 09-01-2020 5:20pm

This thread is shocking.

:flush:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23am.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © 2009 - 2021 The Vette Barn