The Vette Barn

The Vette Barn (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/index.php)
-   Off Topic (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Serendipity and watches (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=126083)

Loco Vette 06-19-2021 10:01pm

Serendipity and watches

2 Attachment(s)
So my last surviving grandparent passed in 1995, the same year I graduated from med school. With the inheritance I was left I bought the watch you seen on my wrist below. Over the intervening 26 years I have paid at least 5x what I originally paid for it to keep it running. Well the date function quit about 2 weeks ago.

As most of you know, I lost Mom in August. At a fundraiser for a charity that meant a lot to both of us the watch in the box came up and I got it for 60% of its appraisal value. Love you Mom.

Stangkiller 06-19-2021 11:17pm

Very neat Val, congrats! So youre retiring the Tag?

Millenium Vette 06-19-2021 11:48pm

Cool watches Doc! That engine-turned bezel on the Rolex is rarely seen in gold.

Is The TAG automatic or quartz? If it's quartz it's probably not an expensive movement to replace. I have a diver from that era and it has an ordinary ETA quartz movement from what my jeweler said.

:cert:

VITE1 06-20-2021 6:47am

Great story and nice watches.

Loco Vette 06-20-2021 8:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stangkiller (Post 1890065)
Very neat Val, congrats! So youre retiring the Tag?

Yeah. It's time.

Loco Vette 06-20-2021 9:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Millenium Vette (Post 1890068)
Is The TAG automatic or quartz? If it's quartz it's probably not an expensive movement to replace. I have a diver from that era and it has an ordinary ETA quartz movement from what my jeweler said.

:cert:

I'll take it in to get looked at. Probably wind up getting it fixed and display it somehow.

StaticCling 06-20-2021 9:53am

Very nice, wear it in good health!

I love my Rolex. :)