The Vette Barn

The Vette Barn (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/index.php)
-   Politics & Religion (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=82)
-   -   Uh oh. I'm breaking my policy (https://www.thevettebarn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23331)

SnikPlosskin 10-11-2011 7:00pm

Uh oh. I'm breaking my policy

I just wrote this article. (I have a few thousand subscribers to my blog and I stay away from politics....until now.)

Quote:

#Occupy Wall Street. Classic Ready, Fire, Aim Strategy
http://www.claritymarketingsupport.c...ads/signtn.jpgRegular readers may or may not have noticed I stay away from politics. I also don't mention religion. And I sure don't write about the place of religion in politics. But the #occupy protests over the last few weeks are just too juicy for me to ignore. Yummy, juicy, deliciously stupid. Uh oh. I said it. Stupid. "But, Pete..." you might say. "You live in Austin, TX. You're gonna get fried for that comment". Bring it people. I call it as I see it and I see stupidity. Here's why.

No doubt you've heard the expression "Ready, Aim, Fire" in the context of marketing. And what is marketing? Essentially it's getting a message out. The #occupiers are trying to get a message out too. The only problem is, they don't even know what the message is. They are doing the same thing many companies do when it comes to marketing. "Ready, Fire, Aim". That strategy, or lack thereof, simply will not work. Will they get attention? Of course. Will they send a "message"? Well, they will send some kind of message. Will they meet their goals? How can they if they don't have anything specific - anything actionable.