Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn - A Community for Corvette Lovers  
Go Back   The Vette Barn - A Community for Corvette Lovers > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic

Off Topic Off Topic - General non-Corvette related discussion.

User Tag List

Share LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2017, 01:11pm   #1 (permalink)
Latin American Goat Roper
Bantayan Kids '13
Points: 72,020, Level: 100
Activity: 97.1%
mrvette's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange Park Florida
Posts: 42,368
Thanks: 20,431
Thanked 5,718 Times in 3,234 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1119341
Default Cable modems/streaming etc.....

I have commie cast with their internet and TV for two sets, the back room is just on a little roku size box, and takes their signal that has been split off their round cable behind the living room crap, and so to use their box in back that is hardwired to the cable and the set on HDMI.....

I have a DVR up front that is same as that little box on TV watching function....ten bux/month rental......the bill don't mention any rentals for either the internet modem OR the one in back which is just for TV....

the internet box is hardwired ethernet to MY computer, and wifi for everything else, wife prints through wifi as her lap top is in the kitchen, printer in back room....she is on wifi to the comcast modem in living room and slo as hell.....

I am NOT PAYING a damn fortune in rate increases, coming up next my questions are.....

I spot cable modems everywhere, from 60 bux up to 600 bux.....I ASSume they all take the standard round cable input, and then have ethernet and wifi for their comm with the rest of the household..NO?? so what are the differences for 10x the price in general.....??

wife's laptop has no ethernet connection.....I live in a 1/4 acre burb, and so wifi is really thick with traffic, and 802.11 is hard put to keep up with the traffic, which is my surmise for it being slow....much less with TWO TV's on firestick plus wife's laptop, which I THINK has to go through the router/modem to get the PRINTER to work??.....

just for grins, I plugged comcast cable directly into the back room TV, and got nothing on a channel scan....

SO WTF is the cheapest solution going???

buy my own modem?? but can it handle wifi with two TV and a a computer/printer all at once??

shit's getting stupid already, sorry for the troubles, but I can't keep up.....

mrvette is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 07:43am   #2 (permalink)
A Real Barner
Points: 22,112, Level: 100
Activity: 99.0%
04 commemorative's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Down the Shore,New Jersey
Posts: 5,622
Thanks: 525
Thanked 1,548 Times in 936 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $100028314

04 commemorative is offline   Reply With Quote

The Vette Barn - A Community for Corvette Lovers > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58am.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - 2018 The Vette Barn

Support the Barn:
Download the Mobile App;
Follow us on Facebook

Become a Stall Owner


Apple iOS App        Google Android App


Visit our Facebook page