PDA

View Full Version : Another WWVBOTD job question (With irrelevent pics)

8Up
02-08-2012, 10:37am
Hey all, I currently work as a Network Optomization Engineer for a company you never heard of. I have an opportunity to go to work for a competitor designing Distributed Antenna Systems (similar but not the same work) with some travel for ~ 15% more $ than I make right now. The only issue is that currently I have such a cushy job that I can pretty much work my own hours, from home, every day, low stress, good benes etc, very low risk of job loss. The other job would be more work (hell almost anything would be more work) but I would grow as an engineer, likely be more marketable in the future, make more $ but be on the road more. Wife says do what I want to do. I Would not have to relocate for the new job. I guess it comes down to: stay in the comfort zone or get out? So WWVBOTD?

Irrelevent pics of my winter project.
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m178/dkp7895/Doniphone038.jpg
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m178/dkp7895/Doniphone074.jpg
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m178/dkp7895/Doniphone079.jpg
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m178/dkp7895/Doniphone095.jpg

Irrelevent pic of my two best friends in the world, I am the guy in teh Hard Rock Tee.
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m178/dkp7895/twoofthebestfriendsaguycouldaskfor.jpg

Stangkiller
02-08-2012, 11:15am
You say it will help you in your resume, unless you plan to retire from your current job...take the step up!

NB2K
02-08-2012, 11:20am
Travel sucks, unless it's by car.

NeedSpeed
02-08-2012, 11:22am
15% isn't a whole lot. What's the cost of living difference?

Yerf Dog
02-08-2012, 11:23am
How long have you been at your current gig?

Stangkiller
02-08-2012, 11:24am

He wouldn't have to move. It might be 15% more pay, but if you travel enough you'll rack up frequent flyer miles and such to pay for your personal trips and travel.

NeedSpeed
02-08-2012, 11:29am