PDA

View Full Version : I know this is a poor place to ask.... Geek Question

Uncle Pervey
07-20-2011, 3:27pm
I went to install SQL Server 2008 R2 on a server I just finished building. Copied the distribution from MSDN put the compressed exe on the machine.
Tried to run the exe, got this message. "Windows cannot access the specified device, path or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to acess the item."
I am an Admin, logged into an Admin account, I have full read, write, execute, delete permissions to every drive on the box. The file is not read only.
These are the things I've tried.
Disable DEP in the boot.ini
Removed the Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration
Rebooted a couple of times.
The really strange thing is it only effects things that are on the local drives. If I map to a network drive and exectute the install it opens up and starts running, but when it is on a local drive it will not allow me to run the install program (actually it is a compressed exe and it won't expand.)
I have looked at and tried every fix I have found on google with no luck, I am getting desperate. :leaving:

JStockton
07-20-2011, 3:31pm
Something to try.
If you copied them off of a CD they could have the attribute of Read Only, I would right click the folder and reset the Security to Full Control on everything including subfolders.

NeedSpeed
07-20-2011, 3:32pm
Maybe you need to install it from the disc, it may be looking for it.

prospero63
07-20-2011, 3:34pm
Let me google that for you (http://lmgtfy.com/?q=Windows+cannot+access+the+specified+device%2C+path+or+file.+You+may+not+have+the+appropriate+permissions+to+acess+the+item)

Uncle Pervey
07-20-2011, 3:52pm
Where are you running the executable from?
Local drive on the server.

Something to try.
If you copied them off of a CD they could have the attribute of Read Only, I would right click the folder and reset the Security to Full Control on everything including subfolders.