Choose your color scheme:
The Vette Barn Forum - A Community for Corvette Lovers  
 
Go Back   The Vette Barn Forum - A Community for Corvette Lovers > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic

Off Topic Off Topic - General non-Corvette related discussion.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2013, 08:47am   #1 (permalink)
Barn Stall Owner #99
NCM Supporter '11,'13
Bantayan Kids '13,'14
Points: 32,475, Level: 100
Activity: 3.8%
 
jaxgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,011
Thanks: 2,442
Thanked 2,462 Times in 1,757 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1017
Default 4G LTE is the Shit!

Blazing fast! Here's a comparison of Cable WiFi vs LTE. I have a good cable package too. The first 3 are LTE and the last 3 are cable.

I used to always use WiFi when at home or anywhere it was available. Not anymore.

jaxgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:56am   #2 (permalink)
Goldilocks
Barn Stall Owner #905

Bantayan Kids '13,'15
Points: 58,587, Level: 100
Activity: 99.3%
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: I never got a participation trophy.
Posts: 21,712
Thanks: 2,679
Thanked 7,429 Times in 3,644 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2299460
Default

My results on 4G with a weak signal, AT&T.
Thomas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:01am   #3 (permalink)
Barn Stall Owner #99
NCM Supporter '11,'13
Bantayan Kids '13,'14
Points: 32,475, Level: 100
Activity: 3.8%
 
jaxgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,011
Thanks: 2,442
Thanked 2,462 Times in 1,757 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
My results on 4G with a weak signal, AT&T.
[IMG]http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj280/Dilemma_1962/B101B40C-651E-483D-9719-A734BE3E46F1-977-0000008F907F3D9C_zpsfddcbd16.jpg[ /IMG]
That's way better than I get on 4G. I just ran a test and got about 2 Mbps down and .75 Mbps up.
jaxgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:03am   #4 (permalink)
Goldilocks
Barn Stall Owner #905

Bantayan Kids '13,'15
Points: 58,587, Level: 100
Activity: 99.3%
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: I never got a participation trophy.
Posts: 21,712
Thanks: 2,679
Thanked 7,429 Times in 3,644 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2299460
Default

What's the diff between 4G and LTE? Sometimes my phone shows both.
Thomas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:03am   #5 (permalink)
Barn Stall Owner #99
NCM Supporter '11,'13
Bantayan Kids '13,'14
Points: 32,475, Level: 100
Activity: 3.8%
 
jaxgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,011
Thanks: 2,442
Thanked 2,462 Times in 1,757 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1017
Default

Do you have your LTE enabled Thomas?
jaxgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:05am   #6 (permalink)
Barn Stall Owner #99
NCM Supporter '11,'13
Bantayan Kids '13,'14
Points: 32,475, Level: 100
Activity: 3.8%
 
jaxgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,011
Thanks: 2,442
Thanked 2,462 Times in 1,757 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
What's the diff between 4G and LTE? Sometimes my phone shows both.
Ah, then you do have it enabled if you get it sometimes and not others. It connects to LTE when the signal is strong enough and falls back to 4G only when it is not.

I'm not sure of the specific differences but apparently it is a helluva lot faster.
jaxgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:05am   #7 (permalink)
Goldilocks
Barn Stall Owner #905

Bantayan Kids '13,'15
Points: 58,587, Level: 100
Activity: 99.3%
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: I never got a participation trophy.
Posts: 21,712
Thanks: 2,679
Thanked 7,429 Times in 3,644 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2299460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaxgator View Post
Do you have your LTE enabled Thomas?
Yup.

I should clarify. It doesn't show both at the same time. It's typically on 4G, but will show LTE at times also.
Thomas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:41am   #8 (permalink)
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '13
Points: 63,250, Level: 100
Activity: 34.4%
 
snide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 29,621
Thanks: 11,699
Thanked 6,533 Times in 3,187 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $144011797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
What's the diff between 4G and LTE? Sometimes my phone shows both.
Who's your carrier? I'm on Sprint. They have 4G (WiMAX) and 4G LTE. I have a WiMAX enabled phone.
snide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:43am   #9 (permalink)
Barn Stall Owner #64
Points: 33,636, Level: 100
Activity: 58.3%
 
Cybercowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 13,075
Thanks: 450
Thanked 5,079 Times in 2,665 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $10086812
Default

I have to drive 40 miles south to Rogers/Bentonville to get it. Yes, Arkansas has LTE, while here in Missouri it's "4G" which is really about 3.5G.
Cybercowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:44am   #10 (permalink)
Barn Stall Owner #99
NCM Supporter '11,'13
Bantayan Kids '13,'14
Points: 32,475, Level: 100
Activity: 3.8%
 
jaxgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,011
Thanks: 2,442
Thanked 2,462 Times in 1,757 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snide View Post
Who's your carrier? I'm on Sprint. They have 4G (WiMAX) and 4G LTE. I have a WiMAX enabled phone.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
My results on 4G with a weak signal, AT&T.
RIF
jaxgator is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jaxgator For This Useful Post:
Old 02-26-2013, 09:45am   #11 (permalink)
Barn Stall Owner #64
Points: 33,636, Level: 100
Activity: 58.3%
 
Cybercowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 13,075
Thanks: 450
Thanked 5,079 Times in 2,665 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $10086812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
Yup.

I should clarify. It doesn't show both at the same time. It's typically on 4G, but will show LTE at times also.
Yeah, our iPads (the only device we have that are 4G LTE capable) will automatically switch between them depending on signal strength.
Cybercowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:46am   #12 (permalink)
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '13
Points: 63,250, Level: 100
Activity: 34.4%
 
snide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 29,621
Thanks: 11,699
Thanked 6,533 Times in 3,187 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $144011797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaxgator View Post
RIF
I do not acknowledge that carrier.

snide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:52am   #13 (permalink)
Barn Stall Owner #64
Points: 33,636, Level: 100
Activity: 58.3%
 
Cybercowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 13,075
Thanks: 450
Thanked 5,079 Times in 2,665 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $10086812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snide View Post
I do not acknowledge that carrier.

Oh, like Sprint is great or something.
Cybercowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:58am   #14 (permalink)
Barn Stall Owner #99
NCM Supporter '11,'13
Bantayan Kids '13,'14
Points: 32,475, Level: 100
Activity: 3.8%
 
jaxgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15,011
Thanks: 2,442
Thanked 2,462 Times in 1,757 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snide View Post
I do not acknowledge that carrier.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybercowboy View Post
Oh, like Sprint is great or something.
Exactly!

It all depends on your coverage. I have excellent coverage on AT&T in my city as shown by the image in the first post.
jaxgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:10am   #15 (permalink)
Barn Raising II,III
NCM Supporter '13
Points: 63,250, Level: 100
Activity: 34.4%
 
snide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 29,621
Thanks: 11,699
Thanked 6,533 Times in 3,187 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $144011797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybercowboy View Post
Oh, like Sprint is great or something.
I never said they were.

snide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:13am   #16 (permalink)
Goldilocks
Barn Stall Owner #905

Bantayan Kids '13,'15
Points: 58,587, Level: 100
Activity: 99.3%
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: I never got a participation trophy.
Posts: 21,712
Thanks: 2,679
Thanked 7,429 Times in 3,644 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2299460
Default

AT&T has been pretty good for me also. Never had a complaint.

Sprint: The network of Potty-Faced Pillownibblers.
Thomas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:39am   #17 (permalink)
8Up
A Real Barner
Points: 10,711, Level: 71
Activity: 18.5%
 
8Up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 4,717
Thanks: 2,247
Thanked 857 Times in 441 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $133
Default

Sprint has been sucking hind teat for about ten years when it comes to network performance. They cant seem to figure out why putting ZERO money into their network isn't attracting new customers LOL!
8Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 11:41am   #18 (permalink)
Barn Stall Owner #3
Barn Raising I
NCM Supporter '11, '12
Points: 32,613, Level: 100
Activity: 5.6%
 
C5SilverBullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Santa Fe, TX
Posts: 11,258
Thanks: 766
Thanked 3,043 Times in 1,508 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $2320126
Default

Here at work:


At home:


Verizon 4G LTE.
C5SilverBullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 12:06pm   #19 (permalink)
A Real Barner
Points: 101,954, Level: 100
Activity: 1.3%
 
TxAg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39,243
Thanks: 3,729
Thanked 8,058 Times in 4,912 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1527510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
Sprint: The network of Potty-Faced Pillownibblers.
Joecooool uses Sprint?
TxAg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 12:06pm   #20 (permalink)
A Real Barner
Points: 101,954, Level: 100
Activity: 1.3%
 
TxAg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39,243
Thanks: 3,729
Thanked 8,058 Times in 4,912 Posts
Gameroom Barn Bucks: $1527510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snide View Post
I'm on Sprint. They have 4G (WiMAX) and 4G LTE. I have a WiMAX enabled phone.


WiMax 4G is pretty good, where it's available.
TxAg is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

The Vette Barn Forum - A Community for Corvette Lovers > Off Topic/Babes/Other > Off Topic


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46pm.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - 2016 The Vette Barn

Download the mobile app:
Apple iOS App
Google Android App
iOS
Android